Sometimes KIDS Know Best

I realize that I’ve pretty much done nothing but moan and groan over the past two weeks with the hubby being out of town for so frickin’ long.  Can I help it, though, if my fairy godmother decided to go off on a bender and that the shadow of doom chose to make my household its bitch?  No, unfortunately, I cannot.  Surprisingly, however, there HAVE been two small incidents that brought about a much-needed smile across my tired, weary face.  When you’re at the end of your very frayed rope, little things mean a lot.

A couple of nights ago during bath time when I was on the verge of running off to join the circus, my son must have somehow sensed my desperation.  The dog had just chewed up my favorite slippers, the dirty laundry looked like Mount Kilimanjaro, and I had refereed more than my fair share of fights for the day.  So when I saw that my daughter had then turned the tub into a damn wave pool, I had no other choice but to begin my transformation into Mean Mommy.  My lid was just about to flip when I felt a little pair of arms envelop me from behind like a warm blanket.  I glanced over my shoulder to see my amazingly perceptive little guy smiling sweetly at me as if to say that everything was gonna be alright.  Just that teensy tiny little hug was all I needed to get me through the rest of that long day.

And maybe it’s a twin thing because my daughter, too, must have had a feeling that Mama was at her breaking point.  It was after yet another nerve-racking afternoon that she holed herself up with some paper and crayons and forbade me from entering the room.  She claimed that she was working on a surprise for me that was “super duper top secret.”  I grumbled about the wreck of a mess that had taken over the kitchen and struggled to keep my heavy eyelids open.  All I wanted to do was to crawl into bed and forget about all the madness of my frickin’ world.  And that’s exactly the point that my angelic little girl presented me with this:

I “fink” it was just what I needed to snap me out of my funk.

Kids really are amazing, aren’t they?!

11 Responses

  1. Don’t have any of y own, but my niece has done similar things for me. It truly is amazing how simple things like this can really make your day.

  2. Awwwwwwwwwwwwww…….. that’s so sweet. It’s amazing how good their survival instinct is, isn’t it?

    I love that they saw how stressed you were and helped you through it in the sweetest way possible. Just awww. Put it somewhere you can see it every day.

    M

  3. My 6 year can sometimes sense my frustration too. But I have to admit that it IS hard for him lately because I am ALWAYS frustrated! 🙂

  4. They really are…sometimes out of the clear blue my son just walks up to me, gives me a hug and say “I love you so much!”…what else do I really need when I have that?

  5. Don’t they just do that at the darnedest times? Can’t even stay upset with that kind of loving going on. I’m glad you had the moment of loveliness though.

    So… what has taken me so long to get over to your blog? I guess I enjoy your tweets so much that I forget to click through. IDK! But I love it over here. You rock! Take some deep breathes, daydream about your next workout session and, if it helps, picturing kicking my lazy butt into workout gear. LOL

  6. Love the “fink” too.

    My daughter is 10 now and spells pretty well, but I still have a fantastic note she once wrote to the toof fairy eggsplaining how the toof was lost.

    keep smiling he’ll be home soon; mine is away this week and whilst I am mssing him I am enjoying not having to cook proper grown up meals each evening.

  7. I do find it amazing that children can drive you crazy one minute and then turn around and completely warm your heart. My girls are still a bit young (not too young to drive me insane some days) but I look forward to the little notes and finks that will be in my future. You done a good job Nucking Futs!

  8. I swear that kids know exactly how to work us. That being said, that note is one of the sweetest things ever. Quick, frame it.

  9. that is just the cutest thing ever!!!
    kids can just be the cutest darn guys in the world
    my youngest will look at me and say im never gonna leave u mommy i wuv u

  10. love it! save it!

  11. What a great note! I “fink” it’s beautiful! It made me smile today…

    Kids just seem to know when we need things like that!

Leave a comment