Keepin’ The Romance Alive

When you’re married with children, it’s damn freaking hard to find alone time to spend together.  The kids and their continuous needs inevitably take top priority.  And trying to keep that spark alive isn’t the easiest task in the world when your spawn are always lurking over your shoulder, trying like hell to blow out the fire.  Take, for instance, our anniversary.  Now in a perfect soap opera world, my husband would’ve whisked me away for a romantic weekend on some remote tropical island to celebrate our 14 years of wedded bliss together, right?  Unfortunately, though, we don’t live in the fictional town of Port Charles, so there was certainly no whisking and absolutely nothing tropical about our monumental moment.

The night of our actual anniversary was unfortunately spent in a hot, crowded room with a boatload of other over-stressed parents, registering my daughter for the travel soccer team.  Real idyllic, huh?  I’d seen my husband for a total of thirty seconds throughout the entire day, and it was only prior to the meeting as we raced by each other on my way out the door.  The timing of the whole thing didn’t even allow us to eat dinner together.  I’d had to shove down some food with the kids and left him a plate of pasta on the counter.  We were holding out hope that maybe, JUST MAYBE, we’d steal some time together after finally getting the kids to bed.

Regrettably, though, our children have decided to boycott sleep these days.  Just when we think we have the all-clear, a little body pops up on the stairs, which is exactly what kind of scenario played out on the night of June 8.  Somebody was hungry; somebody was thirsty; somebody had a sore throat; somebody was scared; somebody had to poop — on and freaking on until I literally started threatening alien abductions to anyone who dared get out of bed again.  And wouldn’t you know that by the time we FINALLY heard the last peep outta the twinkies, I glanced over to find my hubby sawing some serious logs on the couch.  So much for romance.

Luckily, we were eventually able to escape for a quick sushi dinner together last night after my son’s baseball game.  We sat outside and even had < gasp! > an uninterrupted conversation!  Naturally, though, this blissful state of mind was poo-pooed the very moment we stepped through the front door of our house and heard the babysitter negotiating with the little vampires upstairs who were supposed to have been asleep by then.  I seriously think we may have to start hooking up in the car like a couple of teenagers in high school to avoid the inevitable interference from the shorties.  So if the wheels are a rockin’, please, for the love of God, don’t come a knockin’!!!!

18 Responses

  1. Yea, I know exactly what you mean…trying to have a romantic moment is the sure fire way to wake up a 2 year old and a baby. My mother-in-law wants to arrange a day where she takes the kids overnight. I don’t care how long I have to pump to store enough milk for the baby, it WILL happen.

    • Oh, you should totally take your mother-in-law up on her offer to take the kids! It’s sooooooo good for you to get away together! Do it before she changes her mind!

      • Our 4th wedding anniversary is on July 22nd so maybe we can get our night alone then hehe. She wouldn’t change her mind because she doesn’t get to see the kids very often.

  2. Man, how tired do you have to be to not see what the kangaroos were doing?!?! I’ve looked at this post 4 times in an hour to re-start reading it and I’ve just seen the kangaroos… Good lord, how tired am I?

    Don’t go near the car – got it. Hey – whatever gets you some “us” time I’m all for it!

    I’d tell you I’d keep my fingers crossed for an unexpected overnight with a grandparent for all of them but it just sounds kinda wrong… I’m sure you get my drift! Hee hee hee!

    M

    • Sadly, the grandparents live way too far away for us to dump the kiddos off for a night. Sucks big time. 😦

  3. I soooo hear you. Speaking of “hearing”, nothing blows out the candles of lust quicker than the sounds of pitter-patter outside the bedroom door.

    We should really go into business together and start making blinds for car windows!

  4. I hope you get to have more quality time with the husband. How old are the kids?

    • Thanks! Me too! We have 7 year old twins & 1 dumb as shit puppy who we’re quite sure is 1/2 goat. Never a dull moment around here!

  5. I can’t quite relate to all of this just yet, as our twins are only 4 1/2….but hubs and I definitely need to reconnect. I’m so glad you were able to escape for a sushi dinner! Yum! Happy anniversary!

    • Thanks so much for the anniversary wishes! It’s very hard to find time to just be a couple, and when we do, we’re often so tired that it’s hard to really appreciate it!

  6. Congrats on 14 years! Your post is hilarious and so true to life.
    Our wedding anniversary is at the end of the month. Maybe I’ll suggest we go “park” somewhere!

    • Thanks for the anniversary wishes! Hope you have a great one later this month & that you find a nice dark spot to park in. 😉

  7. Our anniversary was May 27th. We spent the morning (and by morning I mean 7:30-11:30) at one daughter’s 8th grade graduation followed by taking her to lunch with her friends and their parents. In the enening (and by evening I mean 6:00-8:30) at another daughter’s honors program. In between we were working. Finally
    had a REALLY late dinner at a romantic spot
    before heading home to the chaos.

  8. The sad thing is, even when the wife and I get time to ourselves, guess what we end up talking about anyways…

  9. Congrats on 14 years! I had to laugh when you mentioned Port Charles!! Gotta love GH!!

  10. Our anniversaries have always sucked so we don’t make any plans for the actual day. (August 3rd is our 14th)

    We just lie to our kids & tell them we’re taking a nap & lock the door. You know kids don’t want to go anywhere near a nap. The other day, the hubs came home at lunchtime & I told my Kindergartner (stupid half-day Kindergarten) that he was coming home to take a nap. She said, “Okay. Have fun sleeping with Dad!”

    I about fell out of my chair.

Leave a Reply

