Date Night

They say there’s nothing quite like the special bond between a son and his mama. And this just so happens to be one stereotype which I am more than happy to be a part of. Yes, my little man totally digs hangin’ out with the woman who brought him into this world and was happier than a fly on shit when we got to have our own little date night this past weekend with just the two of us.

Since my daughter went to a daddy/daughter campout with my husband on Saturday, my son and I were able to have some rare quality one-on-one time. The kid’s face truly lit up like a jack-o-lantern when he found out that he was gonna get me all to himself. You see, normally, he has to compete with his twin sister for my full and undivided attention, and we all know that my last brain cell can only stretch so far. So this little scenario was a-ok with him. He even turned down a playdate with a neighborhood friend so that he could just chill with his mama. Is that true love or what?! I told him that we could do anything he wanted — go out to dinner and movie or order a pizza and play Wii at home. And it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to figure out which option he went with, given that the kid has a borderline psychotic obsession with all things video games.

So we had a little family room “picnic” on the floor with our pizza and a couple of unbelievably irritating episodes of Spongebob. (Are you submitting your “Mother of the Century” recommendations yet?) And then, it was the moment he’d been waiting for — it was Mario time. I swear to you that I played so many freakin’ Mario games that I began speaking in an Italian accent and was quite certain that a mustache was forming on my upper lip as the night went on. And it clearly didn’t make a rat’s ass of difference to my son that I had no earthly clue what the hell I was doing while playing these games. The kid refused to explain the rules of any game to me, and instead, just let me fend for myself. Actually, I think it was all part of his secret master plan to beat the ever-loving crap out of me.

I may have been confused out of my flippin’ mind as well as silently wishing that my exhausted head was on my pillow upstairs, but I would not have traded that date for anything in this world. If you could’ve seen just how unbelievably happy my mini man was, you would understand why I prayed to God that I could just bottle that moment up forever. The fact that he chose to be with ME over anyone else AND that the only ass I had to give up was in Super Mario Brothers defines an absolute picture perfect evening in my mind.

14 Responses

  1. That is just all kinds of awesome!
    So, do you think you’ll become the next Master of everything Mario?

    • No, I just so happen to suck at everything Mario. Really, I couldn’t be worse if I tried. It’s sad. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. It’s-a Mario Time!

    Free pointers on MarioBrosWii & MarioKart anytime ๐Ÿ™‚ I revel in my ability to keep up with the 10y/o WiiFanatic in my life.

    Also, I love my little boy, and I hope he wants playdates with me when he’s big.

  3. That’s a whole bunch of awesomeness right there!

    I need to do more of that with my kiddos! I often make special mommy time with the older one who’s life as an only child screeched to a halt when little sister entered the picture when she was 6! This weekend I had a day alone with the little one..she loved hanging out with me a lone..it hadn’t occurred to me (She’s obsessed with her older sister).

    I really, really need to make an effort to have special days with each! Thanks for the reminder!

    • It’s definitely hard to remember to carve out that special one-on-one time when you’ve got 50,000 other things on your to-do list, but it really is so very important. Gotta do it while we still can!

  4. Reminds me of a probably apocryphal story I read where a parent was trying to build a strong relationship with his/her son by learning about some hobby in which the parent had no interest. Someone asked him/her “Do you really like [in your case, Mario Bros.] that much?” The parent answered, “No, I like my son that much.”

    Throw in the Spongebob episodes and you definitely get a Parent of the Century nomination!

    • That story is exactly the way it was — truthfully? I’m not a huge fan of Super Mario Bros (mostly cause I don’t know what the hell I’m doing), but I suffer through it cause I know it makes my son so happy. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. That’s so great. That one on one time is important and precious. I was thrilled that my 18 year old daughter and I went on a mother/daughter overnight trip last week. We had a fantastic time, and made great memories. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Good job Momma!

    • Aww, that is such a fantasy of mine to have a little girls’ getaway like that with my own daughter! So glad you were able to do that w/yours! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. My wife and my youngest boy share a similar bond. He’s glued to her most days, and their times out and about are always special.

    Glad you had those rare moments . . .

  7. It truly is an โ€œAaaawwwwโ€ moment when our children WANT to spend time with us when normally they are plotting ways to make our lives miserable. I have been blessed to have more and more โ€œplay datesโ€ with my son; a.k.a. middle child, since oldest child moved away to college and youngest child still wonโ€™t be seen in public with me. I know how incredibly lucky I am to have a teenager who WANTS to spend time with me as opposed to playing hide-and-seek at Super Wal-Mart with his friends! Like yours, opting to stay home with a box of pizza and a stack of horror movies which terrify the snot out of me and leave me sleeping with a cross, garlic, and the lights on for weeks. Iโ€™ll trade you Transylvania for Bikini Bottom!

    • Aww, that is so incredibly sweet! I pray that one or both of my twins still want to hang out w/me when they’re teenagers! It’s little things like that that make all the other BS we put up with as parents all worth the while, isn’t it?! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

