The Hunt for Fun

So when you drive over 1300 miles to have some fun in the warm sun, you don’t really expect to end up doing this:

You might notice a couple of things wrong with this picture.  A.) I’m wearing jeans during the day, which is just all kinds of wrong, yo.  It’s F-L-O-R-I-D-A for crap’s sakes!!!!  It should be illegal to be wearing jeans during the day down here.  It IS the freaking “sunshine state” after all.  B.) We are driving around in the car after having driven around in the car for TWENTY-TWO FLIPPING HOURS!!!  My ass should’ve been protesting that idea up and down and all around.

Perhaps an explanation is needed for the odd photo above.  Waking up to a whopping 68 degree high with mostly cloudy skies while you’re on vacation poses a bit of a problem when you’ve got two very active six year olds to entertain.  So we once again piled into the family fun mobile and headed out in search of something to do.  Our search brought us to none other than the giant red bullseye:

Now the males of the bunch only lasted about ten minutes wondering the infinite number of aisles in this particular Super Target, while my daughter and I could’ve played around in the accessories department for hours.  All the bitching and moaning from the boys, however, won out, and we set out once again on the hunt for more entertainment.

Our next stop was on Captiva Island, where my daughter wanted to look for shells.  And holy shell explosion, did she ever hit the mother load!  We had no other choice but to wear our shoes because shells literally covered every single inch of sand.

We grabbed what we could without being blown away by the chilly winds, but overall, I’d say she did quite well in adding to her already massive collection, don’t ya think?

Maybe the smell of all these stinky-ass shells will help to cover up the inevitable stank of puke that will fill our car on the return trip home to Chicago at the end of the week. Here’s hopin’ anyway….

After a long day of trying to make up for a lost day of swimming in the surf, we decided to find a place to eat for dinner, as did the rest of the 50,000 other spring breakers on the island with us.  Every friggin’ restaurant had over an hour wait for a table, which just doesn’t work when you’ve got two tired and hungry short people with you.  We finally ended up at a teensy tiny Mexican restaurant, where my daughter had the right idea:

What better way to celebrate the end of a long day than bellying up to the old bar?

14 Responses

  1. It looks like you made the most of it, and I bet the kids will still be talking for days about all the shells they got!

    • My daughter’s shell collection is getting out of control, so yes, she’ll be talking about it for a while now (as will I in trying to figure out just what the hell we’re gonna do w/all of them!!) 🙂

  2. Your kids are adorable! Sounds like ya’ll are having a good time on your vacation. I hope it gets warmer for you! But I’m stuck here in Ohio where it’s only gonna get up to 61 this week and that’s a heat wave for right now lol.

    • Thank you for the compliment on the kiddos! The weather improved 100% today & is supposed to be nice the rest of the time we’re here. Hallelujah! Come on down & join us! 🙂

      • I would love to, I love Va, NC, and FL anywhere warm actually. Ohio is too cold. But as for all the shells I have an idea you might could use. My mother in law goes to NC to the Crystal Coast every year and gets ALL kinds of different sea creatures and she took a coffee table and had her husband cut the middle out and kinda dropped it down so it was deep and put her shells and some sand in there and then laid glass over it. It would give her something pretty to have that she can tell everyone she helped make!

  3. Your kids are just too freakin cute. At a Super Target, I would have told the men folk to go get lost and I would find them later, but that is just me cuz I don’t care what the men want to do. That is just me though LOL. I pushed 2 kids out of my vaj, 1 w/o any drugs, so the hubby knows his place if I want to browse in a store HAHA. Hope there isn’t too much puking on the drive home.

    • Thanks for the compliment re: the kids! Thank God the weather was better today so we didn’t have to search far for fun. 🙂

  4. That beach looks so cool!
    Isn’t it funny how we go on vacation and always end up somewhere doing something we could be doing back at home? (Going to Target!)

    • I could seriously go to Target any day, any time! I get lost in there just browsing. Too bad the males in my family don’t share the same love of the bullseye! 🙂

  5. looks like you made the most of it. hope the rest of your vacation is better

  6. I feel for you. We went to Disney World last month & the weather SUCKED! Temps in the 40’s & 50’s. Pouring rain one day. Despite the crappy weather, we still had a good time. I hope you do too.

    • Ugh — Disney & crappy weather sucks big time! However, it’s hard to be in a pissy mood when you’re in the most magical place on earth, right?! 🙂

  7. A good one! I loved the pictures!!

Leave a Reply

