Parental Fail

 

I’m having one of THOSE days — you know, the ones where you feel like the worst parent on the planet?  Yes, I’ve snipped, I’ve snapped, and I’ve dared anyone to try and cross my path.  I’ve got a major NyQuil hangover, not to mention a dog who is psychotically obsessed with my ass.  I’ve nursed everyone else but myself back to health for three freaking weeks, and quite frankly, I’m sick and tired of it.  My last bit of patience has hit the road Jack. So, when my son tried to play me this morning into thinking he should stay home from school once again, I wasn’t having it.  I made him suck it up and strap on his backpack.  I listened to him grumble all the way to school, but I marched his little ass right through the front doors, all the while feeling a tiny pit of guilt in my stomach about whether or not I was doing the right thing.  Even though I just took him to the doctor for the bazillionth effing time last night for an ear check, maybe he really was coming down with something….  

And as I was fighting this internal battle within myself,  I was punched right in the face with yet another parental failure on my part.  I completely forgot to help my kids make a damn leprechaun trap for their first grade classrooms.  

 

SON. OF. A. BITCH.  

I watched all these happy, smiling mothers carrying these ornately decorated boxes into their kids’ classrooms, and I wanted to just slam my head into one of the itty bitty lockers in the hall.  Shit!  Could I seriously suck any more?  The teachers reassured me that my kids could bring their boxes in tomorrow, and that maybe some leprechauns could sneak into the classrooms during lunch to leave some “gold” behind.  But, damn, how could I forget that?  I’m a stay at home mom — isn’t it my job to know these friggin’ things?  

So, yes, I’m beating myself up today, and yes I’m in a bitchy mood.  I cannot keep everything straight, and I’m clearly far from perfect.  If I see one of those “know it all moms” today, I swear I may just run her over with my car.  I am human, and I screw up sometimes, so you can either sue me or join me in my pity party.

21 Responses

  1. You are not a bad mom. You’re human. Hugs.

    • Thank you for your nice comment & hug yesterday. It was one of those days where I just felt like everything I touched turned to crap. Today is better though! 🙂

  2. Um… I’ve missed Show & Tell for the last 3 weeks. C’mon, it’s on Monday. It’s the only day my kid sleeps in during the ENTIRE week. WTF?

    Oh, and I apparently didn’t buy her lunch on Monday either. I mean, I thought I did… but they couldn’t find her name. She could stand to lose a few ounces, right?

    Kidding. Sort of.

    • Haha! Glad to hear I’m not the only mom who forgets — I blame it on all the lost brain cells the kids have sucked right out of me. 🙂

  3. Oh I hear you. I had one of those days yesterday. I know my hubby just loves to hear “It’s one of THOSE days today, so watch out!”

    Hang in there….

    Tamara
    http://www.theunexperiencedmom.com

    • I know what you mean — I often give my husband a forewarning too to watch his tongue or else I might cut it off! 🙂

  4. Joining the pity party, here. I forgot a rock, how crappy did I feel, a freakin’ rock.

  5. I can totally share your bad mommy award today! I kick my kids outta my room, everybody’s been taking turn sick around here, now its my turn I feel like crap and still cant lie down and rest like everybody pfft… Get out everybody! hubby kids! get out~!

    • I hope you’re feeling better today! Nothing worse than when mama’s sick — no time to recover.

  6. Hope you feel better soon.

    Anytime I mess up like that, I just convince my kids that what they missed out on was crap compared to what we can do at home. ie: forgot a leprechaun trap? we can make lots of them at home & wear green jammies & have Lucky Charms for dinner!

    I’ve also convinced them that McDonald’s toys & toys you can win from the PTA are total crap. Hurray for gullible kids!

    • I love the Lucky Charms for dinner idea! Very clever! We made our leprechaun traps last night, so we’ll see if they bring any home from school today. I’ve got the Terminix guy on speed dial if they do…. 🙂

  7. This kinda thing happened to me several times when my kids went to preschool. Then I became a room mom so I would never forget.

    • Yeah, room moms are probably way more on top of who’s supposed to bring what & when. I can’t ever do the room mom thing though cause my twins would get jealous if I did for one room but not the other.

  8. Oh my… Don’t beat yourself up. You’re not the one hiding in Walgreens parking lot because they suck at being mom AND wife….it’s ok to forget somethings, but it’s not ok to forget to take care of yourself! Hang in there!

  9. Oh trust me, I know.

    I’ve been sick for over a week now. My husband did this whole thing last Thursday when I was in massive pain and miserable about how I needed to get my work done so he could rest.

    Today, he comes home. Throws up. Gets in bed moaning.

    I’m taking care of him. But I also made a point of saying you know how you feel right now? This is how I felt last Thursday. Feel like an ass yet?

    He does :).

    • I HATE when the hubby is sick — they are the biggest freakin’ babies! We never get the chance to lay around in bed all day like they do! So not fair! Hope you get to feeling better very soon!

  10. Na, you’re not a bad Mom, just human. We all do it. 🙂

    My kid had a referral to an orthodontist in SEPTEMBER and I still haven’t gotten around to it. Oops.

    • Thank you for your little pick me up yesterday! Misery sure does love company, so it was good to hear from other moms who also can’t keep everything straight all the time! 🙂

  11. Ya know, sometimes we have bad days, weeks, me – I’ve had bad years!! We are not SuperWomen, even though we may want to be. And those Know it All Mom’s are full of shit – I don’t believe a fricking word they say… and I want to run them over on a daily basis in my town!

Leave a Reply

