The Puke Invasion

    My house was invaded this weekend by an unexpected visitor.  Yes, the puke bug decided to spew its ugliness all over my poor son’s little body and literally knock him right off his feet.  And as a parent, one of the most gut-wrenching experiences is to have to watch your child suffer in pain and know that there’s not a damn thing you can do about it.  As miserable as he was, though, the little rockstar was still able to make his severely sleep-deprived mama smile more than once even though he was busy “driving the big white truck.”

     When I picked the little guy up from school on Friday, I immediately knew that something was up.  He was as pale as a ghost and laid his head right on me the moment he saw me.  He even turned down a playdate invitation from one of his favorite buddies and showed absolutely no interest whatsoever in Super Mario Brothers — both definite signs that he was going down for the count.  He had a sore throat, fever and chills and started vomiting about an hour after we got home.  The fun continued all day and night for the next 48 hours.  

     At one point after yet another episode of bed puking, he was lying in a tiny curled-up ball on the floor while I changed his sheets for the umpteen-bazillionth time.  He was so listless that I actually thought he’d finally fallen asleep.  However, after a few minutes I heard a crackly little voice say in an almost whisper, “What’s your name?”  I turned around to see him staring at me with a glazed look in his eyes and a tiny smile on his lips.  It actually kind of freaked me the hell out to be perfectly honest.  I wondered if maybe he’d regurgitated his mind along with the rest of his stomach lining. I told him my name, and he asked me again, “What’s your name?”   I hesitantly repeated it, and he asked me to spell it, which convinced me that he truly was going cuckoo.  I humored him and spelled it, but when he asked me again to spell it, I was ready to throw him in the car and head to the ER for a brain scan.  When I spelled it for him again, he then said in a tiny crackly voice, “No, I said to spell ‘I-T’!”  Now maybe it was pure exhaustion, or maybe it was relief, or hell, maybe I was a little cuckoo too, but I found this so hilarious that I laughed and laughed till I almost cried at the wit of my amazing boy. God love him cause I don’t know about you, but I highly doubt that I’d be cracking jokes if I felt that bad.

     By Sunday, the poor kid was so sick and so weak that he could barely even stand up, and my heart shattered into tiny pieces every time I looked at him. After taking him to the doctor, it was determined that he has a severe case of strep.  And because he wasn’t able to keep anything down, the doctor gave him the antibiotics in a shot form to be sure it did its job.  His frail little leg was so sore from the shot afterwards that he had trouble walking, and I had to carry him to the bathroom.  As I was carrying him back to bed to tuck him in last night, he took my face in his hands and very gently kissed my cheek. It was such an incredibly sweet little gesture, like he was trying to tell me thank you for taking care of him all weekend.   

     I pray to God that he’s over the hump and finally on the mend.  He’s so scrawny and thin that I can’t bear to see him lose any more weight.  I would literally do anything to make him feel better at this point.  If he said he wanted a Costa Rican banana, I’d fly there to get him one.  If he wanted to wrap up in a handmade blanket, I’d bust out my knitting needles.  If I could take the sickness out of his body and put it into mine, I’d do it in a heartbeat.  Cause that’s what parents do — you leap tall buildings in a single bound and you catch puke in your bare hands in the middle of the night.  You sacrifice yourself for the good of your kid cause there’s nothing better than a happy, healthy child.

21 Responses

  1. Oh, poor little guy! LOVE the paragraph about him asking your name – made me laugh hysterically (and cry a bit, too)! Hope he’s better now 🙂

    • Thanks, Wendy. It’s been a nightmare of a time. I told him I think he might be destined to do stand-up someday as well as he can crack a joke. 🙂

  2. That is so kidlike, isn’t it? The ability to be in pain and to be somewhere else (like making mom smile). Reminds me of a few months ago when stomach flu ran through our house: I have this image of my 5yo daughter bent over the toilet while I held her hair back and her twin brother rubbed her back.

    Glad to hear he’s on the mend. And I love the I-T joke.

    • That story of your daughter rubbing your son’s back while he puked is the sweetest thing ever! They really do look out for each other, don’t they? Mine really missed each other while we were trying to quarrantine them to separate rooms.

  3. Poor thing! He’s lucky to have you for his loving Mama!
    I hope he feels better soon!!
    HUGS for strength!

    • Thank you so much for the sweet, encouraging words regarding my son & his sickness. Thank God he’s feeling much better & is actually back in school today! 🙂

  4. Awww poor little guy. We know how he feels. We just had a house full of sickies too. Get some rest Mama!

  5. AWwww, your boy is a jokester even when he’s sick. I know you feel, poor mama.
    We do catch puke in our bare hands, and wish above all wishes we could just take the hurt away.
    I hope the reign/rain of puke has finally ended.
    PS- the I-T joke is my new favorite.

    • I am soooooo happy to say that the reign/rain of puke has ended! (Knock on wood that my daughter doesn’t get it!) Thanks for the comment! 🙂

  6. All so true! We will do anything to stop their suffering. I just had a sick monkey myself. I hope he is over the worst and getting back to himself. Sounds like he has quite the spirit!

    • Thank you for the encouraging words regarding my son & his weekend of pure hell. I’m so happy to report that the little guy is much better & even back at school today! Hallelujah! 🙂

  7. Such a sweet post. You usually have me laughing. I was so touched by this. Hope he’s back to 100% soon. xxoo

    • Thank you, Kathy! You are a sweetheart! The little guy is back in school today & I am doing a happy dance! Sickness sucks big time! 🙂

  8. aww!! I shed a tear when I read this part:

    As I was carrying him back to bed to tuck him in last night, he took my face in his hands and very gently kissed my cheek. It was such an incredibly sweet little gesture, like he was trying to tell me thank you for taking care of him all weekend.

    I hope Fin grows up to be such a sweet boy!! Puke and all!

    • Thank you so much for commenting — I have to say that he really is such a sweetheart. He is genuinely just kind & loving — he even holds doors open for strangers. He’s always been a mama’s boy & I hope he always is! 🙂

  9. Wow, you made me laugh and cry at the same time…….you are one talented lady! Children are so resilient and have a spirit that doesn’t quit. Sometimes we forget to notice that until times like this. I love the “it” joke and the puke in the hands thing?……been there, done that!

    • Awww, thank you so much for saying that! I really appreciate the compliment! You’re right, kids are so much more resilient than adults. We could really learn a thing or two just by observing the amazing way that they handle things.

  10. Poor baby!!!! I hope he’s on the mend, and you too!!

  11. Oops – meant to add new to the bloggity blog, love it, and has anyone told you that you look like Trisha Sutter, the “original” bachelorette? So pretty – puke and all I am sure!

    • Thank you so much for the compliment! I certainly haven’t felt very pretty the past few days — bags/dark circles under the eyes, etc. So glad to finally have both kids back at school today, however, my hubby’s out of town so I’m a single mama. 😦 Never a dull moment….

Leave a Reply

