Crazy In Cabo

     Ahh, vacation.  There’s nothing like getting far, far away to a beautiful place like Cabo San Lucas, Mexico in the dead of winter.  A girl could really get used to sipping mango margaritas, lounging by the pool, and waking up to views like this every day:

     To me, one of the great things about going on vacation is meeting new people.  And in a party place like Mexico, you’re bound to come across your fair share of crazy characters.  I was particularly fond of this group of super young thangs who told me over and over and over again that I, too, looked like I was in my twenties:

Sure they may have done one too many tequila shots, but I was very appreciative of the compliment, nonetheless.  (What can I say — I’m a sucker for flattery.)

     And then there was the group of dudes my husband dared me to get a picture with at the Nowhere Bar.  They were dressed in overalls and ski goggles and stuck out like sore thumbs.  I wasn’t sure if they were farmers or snowboarders, but they were certainly willing to play along with me.  Not only did they agree to pose with me, but they also decided to boost me into the air like I was Madonna in the “Material Girl” video:

     And given that it’s Mexico, clothes are often a little more than just revealing.  Some people even like to get jiggy with it and take that concept to a whole new level.  For instance, check out this guy chillin’ with a beer at the Happy Ending bar:

     By far, though, the most incredibly bizarre individual we encountered was a dude who was a dead ringer for Santa Claus.  I never in my life thought I’d witness old man Kringle guzzle jello shots and hump a sombrero on a dance floor.  It would scar my kids for life if they saw this picture of the North Pole wonder giving my friend a lap dance:

 

Really, does it get much better than that?  I would say my friend’s gonna have a VERY good Christmas this year.  I was so grateful for all the laughs, that I had to kiss the upside down man on the sign out in front of the bar:

     And what fun would a vacation be without a little pole dancing?  Good thing our friends at El Squid Roe had one ready and waiting for us to take a little spin.  You know what they say, friends who pole dance together, stay together.  (At least that’s what we told ourselves that night, anyway):

     However, night after night of tequila will inevitably catch up with you.  I felt like Jose Cuervo himself had possessed my body.  Could this sign have summed it up any better?

     It was such a refreshing change of pace to get away from all my responsibilities and let loose for a few days.  It helped me to remember that I’m not just a mom and a chef and a taxi driver and a maid.  No worries, though, cause my kids made sure to remind me of all the fun I’d been missing here at home by throwing a tantrum or two to pull me right outta my Mexican state of bliss.  Adios, vacation zen.  It was nice knowing ya….

20 Responses

  1. I can’t believe I’m not in my 20’s anymore. WHAT?!

    Looks like you had a blast!! Jealous! Guess I’ll have to be patient and wait for my Europe getaway in July. Hmph.

  2. OMG you look like you had so much fun!!!! Love the pics – that sign couldnt be any more PERFECT!!

  3. Your not in your twenties? I think you look fantastic!

  4. So that’s what Santa does off season! hahaha Looks like you had a blast!!!

  5. After being a fan of yours for a while, I know that you deserved such a great vacation and im glad you got it!!! That place looks amazing and even the sky looks like you are in another world. I bet you could make friends on the sinking Titanic! You have a smile that draws people in and no matter what the situation you make others smile too (that’s my Hallmark moment).
    Now as for those guys grabbing your inner thighs…lucky bastards! (more of a Skina-Max moment)
    -The Woodster

  6. Great pics! So glad you had a chance to get away and unwind!

    • Thank you! It was such a shitty, stressful few months prior to the vacation (my dad, etc), so it was sooooo nice to get away for a while.

  7. My 4 year old keeps asking me what Santa is doing now – thanks for finding the answer for him!!

    • Haha! I have a feeling it would rock a lot of kids’ worlds to see what Santa was doing during the off-season. 😉

  8. Looks & sounds like you had an amazing time!

  9. You are so hucking filarious. That sign is perfect! Looks like mad fun. I can’t even remember when I’ve had that much fun.

    • It was a ton of fun! I highly recommend that all parents try to make time for some kind of get-away whenever possible. It’s good for the body & soul! 🙂

  10. I recently read that it’s called a ‘trip’ when you take the kids and a ‘vacation’ when you leave them at home. Looks like you had an amazing, much deserved vacation!

    And you look just as amazing as you did in our DZ days. Love that smile. XO!

  11. u rocked that place-thats fo sure! u do look twnety-something and can hang with the best of them- gorgeous as always!! loveeed the pics!!!

  12. Looks like you had a great time. I was at the Gigglin Marlin in January and got the lap dance as well. Only my dude was a little less Santa Claus looking. I think the guy in the red thong was Guy and that was just a fake tattoo??????

Leave a Reply

