Sweatin’ To The Yogies

     

     Last week a friend of mine asked me if I wanted to join her at a hot yoga class.  I’ve been doing yoga for a couple of years now and have always been curious to try the hot classes, so I said sure, what the hay.  (If you’re not familiar with the concept of hot yoga, it’s done in a room that’s heated to 95+ degrees.)  I had no idea what the hell (pardon the pun) I was getting myself into, but three classes later, I am totally and completely hooked.

     When I attended my first class, I felt like I’d stepped into a sauna as soon as I walked into the studio.  The windows were literally dripping wet with humidity, and I immediately began to sweat.  As we moved through all the different poses in the class, I quickly realized that this was no freaking joke — I was absolutely drenched from head to toe, as was everyone else in the room.  I’ve never wanted to get naked so badly in my whole entire life.  (Sorry, honey.)  That Nelly song kept running through my head — you know the one, “It’s gettin’ hot in here, so take off all your clothes.”  I restrained myself, though, and kept my clothes on.  I didn’t want to make a bad first impression.  Nevertheless, when I left there, I felt strong, I felt powerful, and I wanted more.

     So, two days later, I went back for my second class.  This time, the tiny room was even more crammed-pack with yogies, and everyone’s mats were right on top of each other.  We’re talking not much more than a measly inch in between each one.  Lucky for me (or not so lucky, depending on how you look at it), some nice woman scooched over just a tiny smidge so I could squeeze in next to her.  Little did I know, however, that this good samaritan decided to go au naturale and forego deodorant.  Do you have any idea how awful it is to do a wide-angle forward fold into an ass that reeks to high heaven of B.O.?  It’s not pleasant, let me be the first to tell ya.  I was choking on my own vomit throughout most of that hour and a half, and I’m pretty sure my nose had just shut down altogether by the time class was over.  But even despite the stank that was embedded in my nostrils for the remainder of that day, I still had a deep-rooted craving to do it all again.  

     People say you either love the hot yoga or you hate it.  I just so happen to love it.  In fact, I even ended up buying a pass to sweat my ass off even more regularly there. And my husband seems to be particularly pleased to hear that I’m ready and willing to try new things.  I’m sure that’s what prompted him to email me a coupon for an introductory pole dancing class yesterday.  I’m thinking he might just have some ulterior motives though….

11 Responses

  1. I honestly would love to try hot yoga. But your description of what happened to you is exactly what keeps me away… I don’t do well with being in crowded situations where i’m sweating my butt off. Or with body odor. So I think the combination of both would do me in…

  2. I have always thought I would fall under the “I hate hot yoga” camp. But now I’m intrigued, and maybe a little scared of the butt stank.

    And speaking of pole dancing…I’ve done it at Flirty Girl Fitness in the city and would do it again in a heartbeat! Anytime girl, we’ll hit the pole together, with a class of other non-professional strippers.

    • If you promise not to laugh at me, I’ll do the pole dancing class with you. You should come to hot yoga with me sometime! It truly is awesome (in a stinky, sweaty sort of a way). 🙂

  3. I know we talked or tweeted this before- but LOVE the Hot Yoga..except the Granola’s with out deo! Yikes! I wish the classes were at night though- nothing like sweating like a pig in the middle of the day to then go about your day of errands.

  4. I never thought I will agree with this opinion, but you know… I agree partially now…

  5. I tried a hot yoga class a while back- no one told me about bringing an extra towel or 2, I ended up getting so sweaty I kept slipping on my mat and couldn’t hold many of the poses.

    But I did like it.

  6. You need your own talk show. And I am dying for someone to open a hot yoga studio in this college town. I would be all over it! -H

  7. You are totally hilarious and a trooper because the lady with the deoderant would have sent me running for the hils. I often wondered about these classes but I think my mild OCD(all the sweat) would have me pass on these classes for sure. Good luck in the pole dancing! There was a woman in my area who taught pole dancing on house calls(wink, wink)

  8. I just started following you on Twitter and saw your “tweet” about your post – too funny! I just went to my first Zumba class last night and it kicked my butt – I needed it though. I would love to try out “hot yoga”. I’ve heard about it, but didn’t know what it was. So glad I saw your post!

    • I’m so glad you saw it & took the time to check me out! I’ve always got some nutty thing or another going on. Hope you come back & visit me again! 🙂

  9. I love hot yoga too but don’t go if you’re feeling under the weather. A couple months ago I forced myself to go even though I wasn’t feeling great and I started seeing spots from the heat! I had to cut that session short…

Leave a Reply

