My Kids Have A Dream

     Today is a day in which we remember the late, great Martin Luther King, Jr..  Dr. King’s message was simple — we should all have equal rights, regardless of the color of our skin.  What a tragedy that such a simple message could cost so many good people their lives.  In an effort to remember all the hard-fought work of Dr. King, my twins and I have been talking about the civil rights movement (on a very, very basic level of knowledge, no less), and I am reminded once again of the very unique and extraordinary quality of innocence that little children possess.  

     One day on the way to school last week, my daughter started telling me about the discussion she’d had with her first grade class about Martin Luther King, Jr..  I asked her what she knew about him, and she told me he was, “that guy that made everything fair.”  She also told me that she’d learned about Rosa Parks and the bus incident. When I asked her what she thought about that, she said, “That’s so weird that just cause her skin was darker, she was supposed to sit at the back of the bus!  How silly is that, Mommy?”  My son, who just so happens to be absolutely fascinated with drinking fountains, told me that he couldn’t believe that they used to have separate fountains based on skin color.  He thought it was the dumbest thing he’d ever heard of.  It seemed so ludicrous to their little six-year-old brains that there were different rules for different people.  

     And this is my very point.  If a six year old child can see the inequality of something, why can’t an adult?  Hatred is something that is taught.  Kids are not born prejudiced. They look to their parents and the adults around them to form their own opinions about the world.  It is our responsibility to teach them to appreciate what’s on the inside of people, not the outside.  I, for one, want my own kids to grow up in the kind of world that Dr. King had envisioned, so I plan to do my damnedest to keep on trying for that kind of future for them.

5 Responses

  1. could not agree with you more and it’s awesome our kids see the world differently and NOT jaded like some adults do.

  2. I read this yesterday & it really touched my heart what your kids say. They do not realize the effect that media will soon have on them… as they grow up and become adults.

    • You’re right — the media totally has a negative effect in so many ways. Makes me want to put my kids in a bubble & protect them from all the bad shit in the world.

  3. Generation after generation accepts more and more. Everyone should be treated equal. Hopefully one great day the full dream will be reality. I hope I live to see that day.

Leave a Reply

