If I Only Had A Day To Live

     

     Earlier this week, I caught a tiny blip of a segment on the Today Show that really got me to thinking (and when I say a blip of a segment, I truly mean that, since my children prevent me from hearing more than two seconds of any type of news-worthy information in the mornings) .  The segment was about a book detailing what the author would do if he only had twenty-four hours to live.  Have you ever thought about this question?  It’s definitely not an easy one to answer.

     When I first started pondering this idea, I couldn’t really pinpoint just what exactly it is that I’d do.  First and foremost, I know that I’d for sure freak the hell out.  I would have to bust a serious move in writing a whole flipping novel of instructions and schedules of which kid is supposed to be where and when.  I have no doubt that my husband wouldn’t even know the damn start time for school.  He would need a step-by-step, let-me-hold-your-hand, how-to survival guide to walk him through a day in the life of mama’s shoes.

     And besides the enormous job of trying to fill my size 6 1/2 shoes, there are also just WAY too many things that I haven’t yet done in my lifetime.  For instance, I’ve never even seen The Sound of Music.  I know the songs, and I know Julie Andrews is in it, but I honestly have no earthly idea what the movie is even about.  And yes, I fully realize that I’m probably in a class all by myself, since it seems like everybody and their little red dog has seen this flick by now.  That’s why I feel like I, too, should know about raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens.  However, when it all comes right down to it, I don’t know if I’d really want to spend two and a half of my last twenty-four hours in front of a freaking t.v. screen.

     Another thing I’ve always wanted to do is to travel more.  I have always wanted to visit Italy;  it is truly my dream destination — the shoes, the mafia, the food, the history, the scenery. (Have I mentioned how much I loved “The Sopranos”?)  Unfortunately, I wouldn’t really have time to even get there and back within a day, especially thanks to the jackass terrorist who’s effed everything up for international security clearances (thanks asshole!).

     And then there’s Pinkberry.  I haven’t even had a chance to get a taste of its “swirly goodness” yet.  I can’t be on my deathbed without ever having tried this frozen burst of yumminess!  I’m afraid it would be a serious disservice to my taste buds.  You see, they’ve come to really rely on me for their shits and giggles throughout all our years together, and I feel that I’d just be letting those little guys down in a seriously big way.

     And what about the wrinkles around my eyes?  I thought I’d have to Botox those babies before my time was up.  If I only had a day left, I doubt I’d waste my time on needles stuck in my face.  What would be the point of that?  It’s not like anybody’s gonna be staring at me as I lie in a coffin, since I plan to be cremated and spread out to sea.  I doubt the fish are gonna care about wrinkled ashes.  

     I also haven’t had a chance to win the lottery yet.  Hell, I haven’t even had a chance to PLAY the lottery on a regular basis yet.  I’ve always planned to take my winnings and hire my own personal masseuse to follow me around all day and work out all my kinks and knots.  I highly doubt the odds are in my favor to pick the one and only convenience store that’s selling the winning ticket in just one random day of playing.    

     Truth be told, though, I’m sure that when it all comes right down to it, I’d say to hell with all these insignificant material things in the end.  I have no doubt that I would want to spend every last waking moment with my family, hugging them, laughing with them, and telling them how much they mean to me.  Nothing else even comes close in comparison to the feelings I have for them — they are my life, my heart and soul, my everything.

5 Responses

  1. Wow…I don’t know what I would do….it’s sort of like being given one hour of Me-Time in a 24 hour period…there is so much that I would want to do in that 24 hours…lordy…..I agree with spending it with your loved ones…but we all have so MANY loved ones….this, my dear, is an impossible question to answer!!

  2. It is tough to decide! I’d get my butt to a beach, drag my family along with me, and spend the day cuddling and playing and laughing and eating every morsel of fattening/sugary food that I could get my hands on!

  3. I actually think about this a lot, although in my fantasy I have 6 mos. or so left. 🙂 And truthfully, I wouldn’t do a whole lot differently. I would spend that time with my kids & my husband. Probably cuddled up on the couch in our PJs. Except instead of making meals I’d order the best takeout money can buy! But that’s not that different from my real life now.

    If I had longer, I, too would love to travel to places I haven’t been. I’d probably go visit all my family members one by one or invite everybody on a cruise.

    Because I’m a writer & blogger, I would feel like I’ve left a pretty good record of my life, and something my kids could look back on and remember me by. Thanks for the thought-provoking post!

  4. Ok so what is Pinkberry?

Leave a Reply

