My Realistic Resolution

     

     It’s a new year — a time to start fresh and begin a new chapter.  I guess that’s why so many people feel compelled to make resolutions. They resolve that this year they’re gonna do things differently; this year they’re gonna do things better.  They’re gonna work out more or eat healthy or quit drinking or quit smoking.  Sadly, many of these promises are broken before January even gets off the ground.  And this, my friends, is why I don’t really do resolutions.

     I tried to explain this whole concept to my kids last night after my husband turned them loose with cans of silly string in my kitchen (he most certainly didn’t get any late-night action from me after that stupid little stunt).  Anywho, I asked my little peeps if they wanted to make any New Year’s resolutions to be better about doing something over the next twelve months.  My daughter said she wanted to be better about remembering to make her bed every day — a commendable enough goal, I thought.  My son, however, just sat there pondering.  I finally offered a suggestion that perhaps he might like to be a better listener, since I often wonder if the kid has a hearing problem, given his lack of response to me 99.9% of the time.  He thought about this idea for a minute and then said, “Nah, that’s WAY to hard.”  At least he’s honest.

     As for me, I would rather make a promise to myself that I know I can actually keep.  So, rather than saying I’m gonna give up wine (which would be ridiculous since I am a stay-at-home mom, after all) or that I’m gonna give up swearing (cause shit, who would I be kidding?), I’d rather try to make a point of doing something more practical.  This year, I’m gonna make it a point of saying “I LOVE YOU” to the people that matter most to me every single day.  If 2009 did nothing else for me, it proved to me that life is precious and ridiculously short, and family and friends are what it’s all about.  So, here’s to 2010 — may it be healthy and happy for each and every one of you!

12 Responses

  1. Anpther awesome post (yet again). I am with you – I don’t really do resolutions either. I figure if something is that important and worth doing there is no need to wait until the beginning of a year/week/month, just DO IT NOW.

    That being said, at the beginning of the year I do reflect on the year past and I also decide how I want to refocus myself and what I would like to accomplish/attain in the coming year. And if I am super enthusiastic I actually sit down and make a plan on how to pull it all off (plan curently in the works for for 2010).

    This year for me 2010 is finally getting past my fear of failure and my fear of success, and getting myself and my coaching/workshop business out there, really out there, helping more people, women-people in particular (but hell, whoever wants to take a spin around the coaching-dance floor with me is MORE than welome!! My dance card is almost wide open!).

    So, here is to us, the pretty much-level-headed women (mothers in particular) that are doing or best to hold it all together, pull it all off, getting everyone out the door every day and to bed safely every night with a kiss on the cheek. And if its all done with the odd (or even) glass of wine to help us along the way, so be it.

    Happy new year sister. May 2010 bring you and yours health, happiness, much love and many, many laughs.

    • I think setting a goal for yourself like yours is perfectly reasonable! It’s hard to take risks, and sometimes we just have to give ourselves a little kick in the keister as a reminder. I hope this new year brings about lots of happy laughs for you, as well! 🙂

  2. I don’t do resolutions. I think they are a waste of time, energy and – well – effort. As soon as you make something a resolution, you have this emotional Sword of Damocles hanging over your head. I figure if you want to stop smoking, lose weight, whatever, then just do it. But don’t wrap it up in the crappy paper-and-bows of a NY’s Resolution. Cuz you’re destined to fail if you cover it in that shite!!

    I like your “resolution”. It’s practical, doable and more importantly, it’s well, just that, IMPORTANT. Little things like saying “I love you” can totally make a person’s day. So, in the words of that great Mr Darcy, “Go to it.”

  3. I like the site! I do not make resolutions either. 🙂

    Shane

  4. I don’t believe in resolutions either. We should make changes in our lives when we are ready for them and not accordiing to the date on the calendar.

    I like your new design here. Just one thing though: I love the snow in the background but it also falls in the centre over the text and is a bit distracting. Then again, I’m distracted by shiny objects and hot man-butts so you may want to ask around for a second opinion (LOL).

    Happy New Year Nucking Futs Momma!

    • Thank you & Happy New Year to you, too! Thanks for the input on the snow — I took it off. Don’t need any unnecessary distractions when I’m reading something, either! 🙂

  5. I’m with you on the resolution thing. It’s not really my style. And besides, I’ve got five kids…don’t I deserve to keep a vice or two? 😉

    Good work on tweaking/fixing up the blog. It looks great!

    • Thank u! And yes, we have to keep a vice or two — if not, the looney bin’s gonna be overflowing! 🙂

  6. great new blog layout. me likey. me likey. i don’t make resolutions. i find it works best cuz then i’m nerver disappointed in myself. happy 2010 and take care.

  7. Well, I am kind of a resolution girl. I just like the “fresh start” of the new year and all the possibilities that are ahead. But I wanted to say that I really like your positive spin on the resolution. I think it’s great.

    Happy New Year to you and yours!

    • There’s nothing wrong with setting goals for yourself, so good for you! And Happy New Year to you, as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

