Halloween Recap

pumpkin     

     Phew!  What a whirlwind of a weekend.  Between our adults-only Halloween party on Friday night and trick-or-treating on Saturday night, I am absolutely zapped.  There was dancing, there was drinking, there was tricking, and there was treating.  So, I thought I’d give you a recap of all the fun-filled festivities.

     The Halloween party was a total blast with a lively group of people who were ready to let loose.  Throw a DJ into a room full of stressed out parents, and you’ve got yourself one hell of a dance party!  And their costumes were A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!  The prize winners of the “Best Couple” costume had literally turned themselves into Fed Ex packages from head to toe.  I’m sure they’ve been celebrating their victory in their edible underwear all weekend long.  The “Best Male” costume prize went to a guy who was dressed as the cop from Reno 911.  He had the super tight short shorts, the mustache and everything.  The “Best Female” prize went to a girl who was dressed as Princess Leia (every guy’s secret fantasy).  The “Most Inappropriate Couple” were hilarious — the wife was dressed as a margarita and the husband was a breathalizer with a “Blow Here” tube placed ever so conveniently in his crotch area.  And the grand prize of the night (the blow-up doll named Big Bertha) went to a guy dressed like a hippy who must’ve dirty danced with every wife there.  He worked that room like it was his job, even busting out into the splits in the middle of the dance floor. And when he was awarded the top prize of the night, he most certainly didn’t disappoint.  He blew Bertha up right there on the spot and posed for all the cameras that were flashing. His wife just stood back and rolled her eyes and laughed at his “acceptance speech”, but I’m sure she will be thrilled to have a stand-in for those nights when she’s “got a headache.”

     We ended up staying at the bar so late that we were hanging out with the bartenders by the end of the night.  We finally decided to walk home with me wearing my husband’s stupid neon orange tuxedo jacket (he and another husband dressed as Dumb and Dumber).  I’m sure we looked ridiculous as hell to anyone who happened to be out at that hour.  I’d lost my corsage, my crown and the flowers in my hair and had somehow acquired someone’s mustache in my purse.   We didn’t care though cause we’d had an unbelievable amount of fun dancing our asses off with all our friends.  And it seemed that the other party-goers shared that same sentiment when I saw them out and about trick-or-treating the next night. Let’s just say that there were a LOT of hungover parents tagging behind their little ones in the neighborhood on Saturday.

     Regardless of how bad we felt on the inside, we had to just put on a happy face and try to forget about that jackhammer pounding away in our heads cause our kids were on a mission for candy.  It was hard to dwell on a hangover too, since our neighborhood is so much fun on Halloween. Spooky music was blaring on nearly every block, and kids were running everywhere.  Many houses were passing out wine and beer (including ours) to the adults, although I chose to stay away from all things alcohol that night.  My kids got so much candy that they had to stop by home and pick up another empty bucket.  When my husband took them out to their last block, they ran into some rather strange give-aways.  One lady was handing out scarves, neck ties and bracelets, which totally blew my kids’ minds. Then another lady was apparently handing out 2-liter bottles of pop.  What the hell?!  I don’t know if they ran out of candy or what, but if you ask me, they were totally asking to get egged. When it was all said and done, we had four buckets full of sugar and two very happy trick-or-treaters.  

     I ate so many KitKats and Twix bars over the next two days that I now feel sick.  And the kids have already started in with asking me for candy before breakfast. I’ll allow this madness to continue for a couple more days, and then I’m shipping it all off with my husband to work.  The Halloween frenzy has come to an end, and I’m already counting down the days till next year when I can justifiably dress up like an idiot once again.

11 Responses

  1. How awesome! Glad everyone had a great Halloween weekend. The adults only party sounded like a blast! Did you have family watch the kids or a babysitter? I still think I need to move to your neighborhood, mine is filled with white trash drama queens.

    Look forward to reading your next blog entry, they always bring a smile to my face 🙂

  2. Glad you had a great time, the party sounds like it was a blast! I feel you on the candy…I am officially on a sugar detox for the next week! But damn, it was good!

  3. Wow! Do you know how to have a good time!! Here’s a tip for partying: Always have some charcoal capsules on you and take two before you start drinking. No hangover and you don’t get quite as drunk. They’ve saved my sorry butt on many an occasion. Your costume was great. Wish I’d been there. – Jayne

  4. No pictures of the contest winners?? Or even of you and your hubby? I was looking forward to seeing those

  5. Thinking of moving to your neighborhood. We never get free booze around here.

  6. Hey Babe!! Great party Friday night – the DJ was fab. And who were the two guys who were dressed as the Blues Brothers? They were a riot!! A great time was had by all – but we paid for it Saturday. And another thing…it’s not a good Halloween party unless the cops come…that was a flashback to my college days.

    • Hey chica! Glad you all had fun! It was such a blast, wasn’t it?! I have no clue who the Blues Brothers were — think they were randoms who just happened to walk by the bar & see there was a party going on. And what was with the cops? I don’t remember them coming, but we’ve got pics of the female cop on our camera for some reason. Good times!

Leave a Reply

