The Perfect Date

rman2941l    Since my daughter had her big daddy/daughter campout with my husband this weekend, I promised my son that I’d take him out on a dinner date.  As crazy as our lives are during the week, I hardly ever get to spend a whole lot of one on one time with the little man, so it was awesome to chat and chill, just the two of us.  He was super-stoked about having me all to himself without his chatty Kathy sister constantly interrupting him.  I have to say that the lil’ dude was a perfect gentleman and made for the perfect Saturday night companion.

     I let him pick the restaurant, and naturally he picked a place that we refer to as “The Crazy Straw Restaurant.”  The dude could seriously care less about the food, but he is thoroughly blown away by the tornado-swirled straws that come in the kids’ drinks.  Bells and whistles people, bells and whistles.  Unfortunately, however, even though I called ahead to put in our names, we still had to wait for a few minutes to get a table.  I was all set for him to dive right into a dramatic, kicking and screaming monologue about dying of starvation right there in the middle of the restaurant. Surprisingly, though, my little date never bitched or moaned or even said so much as an “aww, shucks.”  He actually waited patiently right beside me until our buzzer finally lit up.

     We enjoyed a pre-dinner cocktail, a glass of Kendall Jackson for me, a cup of chocolate milk for him (complete with crazy straw, of course!), as he wooed me with his wealth of solar system knowledge. I learned that I apparently live in a ditch since I didn’t know that Pluto is no longer considered a planet.  I guess I’m not smarter than a six year old, let alone a fifth grader.  As we sat there shooting the breeze, I noticed that a little girl in the booth next to ours kept giving my son the old googly-eyed look. This chick was trying her very damnedest to get his attention but was failing miserably.  I tried to get my son to give her a little smile just to throw the poor girl a bone, but he was completely uninterested.  Next thing I knew, this little vixen had made her way over to our table with her dad.  Her dad actually had the wherewithall to say, “Does my daughter know your son from somewhere?”  Homeboy was purposefully throwing out pickup lines FOR this four-year-old hussy!  But being the player that he is, my son didn’t even give her the time of day.  You see, he’s a one-woman guy, and he was way too busy having fun with his main squeeze for the night.

     After we finished our candlelight dinner for two, we stopped off for a nightcap at Ben & Jerry’s.  With globs of chocolate ice cream dripping down his chin, he continued to charm the hell out of me with all his funny little tales.  We walked hand in hand to the car and drove home singing along to the radio.  I thoroughly enjoyed every single minute of my night out with this honorable little fellow, and the best part of the whole date was that the only thing he expected me to put out was a pair of race car pajamas.

18 Responses

  1. but the question that begs answering: did you get a crazy straw in your Kendall Jackson? lol!
    Awesome post- and I say this from the botton of my mommas-boy-raising heart- my son is 4 and he’s my fave date too! (sorry, dad!)

  2. Sounds like a fun night !

  3. Love! Good work mom! And the little dude…more advanced than many BIG dudes I know. 🙂

  4. Awwww…..I hope if I have a little boy I can have wonderful little date nigths like that. My heart was melting, and then I started laughing my ass off at the little girl trying to pick up your date. The race car pajamas is a nice touch too. This story really made my day.

  5. That’s so sweet! I can’t wait until my little man is old enough for date nights. 🙂

    • It’s really fun to see how excited he is to have alone time w/me — he’s definitely a mama’s boy.

  6. What a cool little dude. Good for you for taking advantage of the time with him. I love that the kid played it cool with the little girl checking him out. I wonder what my boy would have done – played it cool, or jumped from his seat, ran over and start hounding her like he sees his daddy to to his mommy every day…

    • I think he’s gonna be one of those dudes who plays hard to get, which is just fine w/me. Keep those ho’s away from my baby!

  7. What makes you think the Dad was throwing out the pick up lines for the daughter? Could be he was a single dad HOPING to start a conversation with a pretty lady.

    • Well, he must’ve had some serious balls if that’s what he was doing cause his wife was sitting back at his table!

  8. awww how sweet!

  9. How sweet! I wish I had a little boy. Damn my husband and his girl only making sperm.

  10. hilarious!! Love the ending ! Too cute:)

  11. I love it. Sounds like you have taken a scene right out of my book of memories with my 8 year old. Only in my version, I would recount the date as you have, then if you asked him the next day if he had fun, he’d say: “It was okay I guess”. Letdown.

    • Aww, that is so sad! I dread when we get to the stage when it’s no longer cool to hang out with me.

Leave a Reply

