Invasion of the Manner Snatchers

RUDE_narrowweb__300x386,0     

     Is it my imagination or have manners all but become extinct anymore?  Seriously, have we all just decided to become a-holes and only think about ourselves?  I mean, crap, I’ve got places to go and people to see too, but that doesn’t mean I need to stampede the little old lady in front of me to get there any faster.  How am I supposed to teach my kids about manners if nobody anywhere around them seems to have any of their own?

     One of my constant encounters with rudeness takes place each and every week at my favorite yoga class.  There’s this one certain woman who inevitably always plops her shit down right next to my mat.  I cringe every time I think about trying to meditate next to this crazy bitch.  She is like a bull in a china shop.  The woman doesn’t have a clue how to be quiet about anything.  She’s constantly texting on her obnoxiously loud phone (does she not know about the silent feature?!) and every so often even taking calls right in the middle of the freaking class. And she never stays for the duration of the class. She waits until everyone is lying completely still in “savasana,” which is the word for corpse pose, to pack up all her crap without any regard whatsoever to the fact that everyone is supposed to be in a complete state of relaxation by this point of the class.  It’s a little hard to be relaxed when homegirl’s undoing the velcro strap for her mat, digging in her purse for her keys, putting on her clunky shoes, and literally stomping across the width of the room, all so she can be two or three minutes ahead of the crowd.  It really pisses me off, and I can’t imagine how difficult it must be for the instructor to keep her cool. She must be a lot more centered than me.

     Another one of my recent brushes with the rudeness of humankind was as I was leaving CVS the other day.  I needed to turn left out of the parking lot, which was not an easy task, given the super busy street it intersects.  I was like the chicken trying to cross the road, just waiting as patiently as I could for any opening.  Chalk it up to bad timing cause I wasn’t going anywhere fast.  All of a sudden, I heard someone laying on the horn behind me.  I glanced into my rearview mirror to see yet another bad-mannered lunatic screaming and cussing and flailing her arms about in the car behind me. What in holy hell did this insane woman want me to do?  Did she honestly expect me to just go barreling out into oncoming traffic and push the other cars out of the way for her?  When I finally was able to turn, she yelled “Stupid bitch!” and flipped me off through her open window.  Hmmm, seems to me that she’s the one not quite playing with a full deck if she thought causing a multi-car pileup seemed like a reasonable way for her to get where she needed to go more quickly.

     And yet another case of tactlessness with which I continually cross paths takes place right here in my very own neighborhood with other fellow dog owners.  It’s beyond me how some of my neighbors don’t seem to have any qualms at all with allowing their loose dogs to just randomly roam the streets.  This one dog in particular is always wandering around in other people’s yards just looking for the perfect spot to lay a monstrous pile of dung, which of course won’t EVER be poop scooped by his owner since he is MIA.  Then there’s also another sad excuse for a dog that runs amuck through our hood on just three short and stumpy little legs. Now I don’t know about you, but I don’t think it’s the wisest decision in the world to let a gimpy little mutt hobble about the streets all alone.  Hell, that’s probably how he lost his leg in the first place.  “Lucky,” as my husband and I refer to him, is always causing passersby to stop and question if the poor thing is lost.  And, naturally, he is also leaving little piles of brown surprises in all the neighbor’s yards.  If I, myself, didn’t have any cooth, I would plop our new pup smack dab on their doorsteps to leave a few things of his own behind to thank them for their neighborly ways. But, you see, I actually do have some shreds of decency in my bones, so I will not ever do that.

     I really don’t understand what has happened to our society.  What about doing unto others as you would have them do unto you? Have people just become too busy or better yet, too selfish to think about the consequences of their actions?  It seems to me that we all need to take a little lesson from Aretha and start showing some R-E-S-P-E-C-T for one another.

24 Responses

  1. LOVE it! I think we should be able to make a citizens arrest for rude people. The penalty will be paying a small fine and reading Miss Manners. Now “F” you!

  2. I got one of those people behind me while trying to turn onto the highway a couple of weeks ago. They honked a couple times and then pulled up next to me to give me the finger. While blocking oncoming traffic. Nice. It’s not my fault you are going to be late. You should have left earlier. A large accident isn’t going to make you any closer to being on time.

    I’ve all but given up on people respecting each other. I know that most people do, but unfortunately it’s the rude people that get the most attention.

    Great post.

    • Thank you! Isn’t it amazing to think what lengths people will go to behind the wheel of their cars? Amazing & extremely scary.

  3. You find an answer to this, I’m all ears. I see some manners being taught in my son’s school, so it’s not all dead, but seriously, there are some giant assholes roaming hte earth.

    • Yes, at least they do try to teach manners at school, but it doesn’t do much good when the kids go home & see their parents acting like jackasses.

  4. I know exactly what you mean. People are SO rude. A bunch of self entitled schmucks. And many people are raising another batch. This is what happens when everyone gets a trophy IMO.

    Yes, that’s over simplified, but it’s down that path that leads to here.

    • Yes, kids typically do what they see their parents doing, so it’s scary to think what the world will be like later on down the line. Yikes!

  5. Oh my God, that picture made me laugh.

    I have a neighbor who always lets his schnauzer shit on my lawn. I.Will.Get.Revenge.

  6. I hate rudeness, too! And you’re right, seems like today everyone only cares about themselves… what happened to manners? Seriously… get a clue, people! That lady in your yoga class sounds horrible! OMG! As if she takes calls during her class! And her leaving early too – I hate it when people do that! ANNOYING! And rude!

  7. Rude people are annoying so freaking annoying.

  8. LOL, all the businesses around here are on Main St., which is pretty busy, because that is how you get EVERYWHERE. There was a guy in front of us the other day, trying to turn into the beer distributor (haha) which was on the oposite side of the street. The traffic coming from the opposite direction was terrible, and could CLEARLY be seen. Well, the girl behind my husband’s truck, that was no older than we are (and talking on her phone/doing her hair), started beeping and cursing and waving her arms. Finally, my husband got sick and tired of the way people behave when they were driving, and he put the parking break on (his truck is a standard), and went back to this girls window and started screaming at her about her behavior. He was yelling that there was a man in front of us trying to turn, and we aren’t just stopped in the middle of the road trying to ruin her day. He also was yelling at her about the traffic from the opposite direction, and if she can’t see it she is blind. He also had to get a stab in about talking on her phone and doing her hair while she is driving. I was so embarassed, but he was finished, so he got back in the truck and released the break. I looked back, and that girl was white as a sheet. I don’t think she has ever had anyone yell at her before about her aweful manners or behavior. Well, finally the guy turned, and we were on our way. I looked behind us, and the girl turned into the Dollar General parking lot that was about 3 feet from where we were sitting. WHAT A MORON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • This made ma laugh..good for your husband. Maybe if more of us checked peoples bad manners they’d take more notice of how they’re treating others.

    • Good for your husband for putting her in her place! Clearly her hair was way more important than traffic laws. People like that shouldn’t even be allowed to be behind the wheel of a Big Wheel, much less a car.

  9. I’m confident many of the angry drivers are those who are looking to get pissed about minor things. They feel protected by their little iron box and mighty because they have a horn. Bastards…. What happened to the good ole days where bad manners were getting caught picking your nose at a red light, or leaving the table during dinner to go drop the kids off at the pool?

    good post as always woman!!

    • Thanks, man! Yeah, bad manners have definitely stepped it up a notch now days. And road rage is truly outta control — I saw a man try to throw down with the woman driver next to him at a stoplight a few weeks ago. Think we all need to take a chill pill.

  10. I always think it’s funny that come Holiday season people get so rude. When all the radio stations are piping out “goodwill to men” and every TV station is giving people the warm fuzzies, walk into a grocery or department store & TRY to find that goodwill.

    That’s why every holiday season I give myself plenty of time to do anything. It’s my own one-woman Christmas Present to the World……I smile in stores. I wait patiently in line. I let people take my parking space…..

    (of course the rest of the year I’m a total bitch, but what can you do?)

  11. Hey very nice blog!!….I’m an instant fan, I have bookmarked you and I’ll be checking back on a regular….See ya

  12. I enjoy this site, it is worth me coming back

  13. I don’t know If I said it already but …I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read….

    • Thank you so much! I’m glad you found me too! I hope to keep you coming back again & again! 🙂

  14. Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking your feeds too now, Thanks.

Leave a Reply

