The Hot Dad

Harleys     

     Get a group of stay at home moms together, and it doesn’t take much to snap our attention out of the Groundhog Day routine that otherwise consumes our daily lives, especially when the distraction comes in the form of a hot dad on a Harley.  Call it pathetic; call it cheap; call it what you will. But, it’s a little hard not to notice a buff-looking hunk of a man amongst a sea of overly exhausted mamas.

     One day this summer when I sat in the carpool line waiting to drop my twins off at camp, I heard the revving of an engine somewhere in the not-too-far-off distance.  When I glanced in my rearview mirror, I was suprised to see that there was a Harley crammed right into the row of minivans behind me. I was even more surprised to see that the driver was a very tanned, very toned and very H-O-T dad who appeared to be dropping off his son, as well.  I had never seen this guy there before, because believe me, I would most certainly have remembered him.  I immediately asked my kids if they knew the little boy, and, unfortunately, they didn’t have a clue who he was.  When motorcycle man pulled up to drop off his little guy, all the camp counselors erupted into applause.  Judging from the gigantic smile on the kid’s face, he must’ve felt like the coolest kid on the planet making an entrance like that.  He got everyone’s attention, that’s for damn-tootin’ sure.  I never found out who the kid was, and I never saw Hot Dad again after that…until last week, that is.

     Since the elementary school is only a few blocks from our house, we typically walk to school every day.  As I was walking with the kids one morning last week, my neighbor down the street told me she wanted to introduce a new dad to me.  I honestly didn’t think a thing of it because I guess I just assumed it would be a regular average-looking Joe.  When we got up to the school, I was busy kissing the kids goodbye when I noticed out of the corner of my eye that my neighbor was walking in my direction. My jaw practically hit the ground when I turned around and came face to face with none other than Hot Dad!  I rubbed my eyes to be sure what I was seeing, and I think I may have even gasped out loud.  My neighbor introduced him to me and told me that he was her soon-to-be brother-in-law.  It took a minute for me to actually process this turn of events, but I finally put two and two together and realized that this was most definitely the dude on the Harley.  I asked him if he’d taken a little boy to camp on his motorcycle, and he blushed, asking me if I’d heard all the cheering.  (I wanted to tell him that yes, I was cheering right along with them!)  What’s even more ironic is that he used to be a personal trainer at my gym, and he said he recognized me from there. Of course, it only made sense that Hot Dad was a gym buff who worked hard to get a body that looked like that, right?!

     As I stood there talking to this extremely friendly (and don’t forget extremely H-O-T) guy, I couldn’t help but notice that every mom’s head had practically fallen off her body trying to get a load of this tasty piece of eye candy.  When you’re used to seeing the same group of women with an occasional hum-drum dad thrown in the mix every single day in and day out, a fetching foreign specimen such as the likes of Hot Dad is gonna cause quite a stir.  It’s like throwing a vial of blood into a swarm of mosquitos.  I ended up meeting his fiancee a few days later, who, naturally, is just as gorgeous and just as sweet as he is.  They truly are a beautiful couple, I must admit. And even though they take turns dropping the little boy off at school, I still have the off-hand chance of catching a glimpse of Hot Dad.  I’m usually slow-going in the mornings, but the prospect of running into him should most definitely put a little pep in this mama’s step.

9 Responses

  1. I love it!! That happens here too, when the occassional rare hot dad is on the scene, actually when there is usually nothing but women, even the not so hot dads driving minivans turn heads – ha! ha!

  2. I love having some eye candy in the neighborhood. However, it’s always inevitable that I run into the eye candy when my hair is dirty, I have zero makeup on and there’s kid puke on my shirt.

  3. Hot dads make a SAHM’s day don’t they. Seeing a HSAHD at the childrens museum often made my morning!

  4. I wonder if there’s a way I could get a Hot Dad (or someone similar) to come work for my company. This place needs some spice too.

  5. HMMM…. once you pin down his drop off schedule pass it along. =)

    • Will do — haven’t quite figured it out yet, but I’ll let you know when he’s gonna be turning heads. 🙂

  6. Great post!

Leave a Reply

