The Staycation

summer-staycation     

     My hubby is taking the week off from work this week, and in the spirit of trying to save a buck or two in this crappy economy, he came up with the cheapskate brilliant idea of a “staycation” for our family. Now, personally, I despise that stupid term, because it truly makes no sense to me whatsoever. How can you be on vacation if you stay at home??!!  It totally contradicts itself, if you ask me.

     Being a stay at home mom, I, especially, don’t seem to benefit much at all from this whole “staycation” idea.  Since I will never really be leaving my office, I will always be staring at my work.  There will still be laundry to pile up, dishes to clean, and floors to sweep.  I have a really hard time just flat-out ignoring those things.  My hubby gets to physically leave his work downtown while mine is flipping me the middle finger all week long!  I ask you, where is the fairness in that??!!

     And to prove this case in point, guess what I did on Day One of this little “staycation?”  I spent three hours in the basement trying to create some kind of organized order to the chaotic disarray of toys, dvd’s and video games that seem to have exploded all over the floor down there.  I know, I know, you’re all probably jealous right now at the thought of such an exciting way to spend an afternoon.  I do have to give credit where credit is due though and say that my hubby did go down in the trenches with me and help to put a dent in the huge wreck of a mess.  Nothing says vacation like a nose full of dust and five trash bags full of broken toys, does it?  Good times.  Good times.

     We do have some fun things planned to do with the kids this week, which will help to suspend my disbelief that we are not really on any type of getaway whatsoever.  For example, today we are going to a little kiddie amusement park for the whole afternoon.  It’s close to an hour’s drive away, so I guess we will technically be out of town today. However, there’s still the looming completion of the basement-clean up project, as well as a thousand other things around here to snap me back into the reality of the situation. I’m still doing all the things I’d normally be doing, while the hubs is the one who’s “on vacation.” Some “staycation.”  I’m asking for an I.O.U…..

10 Responses

  1. Yep. That’s what “vacations” are for us now. Day trips here and there. And the ever larger piles of laundry. Boohiss.

  2. But! Think! Of! All! The! Money! You! Are! Saving!!!

    Yeah, it didn’t help me either.
    Economy – sucks. Whoever came up with this idea obviously had balls.
    In more ways than one.

  3. I have felt the same way about our staycations this year lmbo! Our staycation vaguely resembles that kiddie pool in the cartoon at the top of this post…except we actually get to put a little water in our pool, and then when the kids are done with the pool they have to help me water the veggies with the pool water…that’s right, I put my kids to work for their staycation, but they love it!

    I guess the inventor of the staycation is not a work at home mom. Maybe a staycation for work/stay at home moms would be a weeks worth of live in maid/nanny service, available 24/7…they could follow us around all day cleaning up our kids broken toys and changing diapers while we sip on frozen margaritas.

    • Can you please print up a brochure of your staycation ideas & send it to my husband? They sound like heaven….

  4. Hm. Good point. I’d never thought of it from the perspective of a stay-at-homer.

    I’m also on a staycation this week, but I’m loving it. Also a money thing: to broke to go anywhere. But, to be perfectly honest, I’m also too *exhausted* to go anywhere. I need just a little time at home, to just *be home.* I have to forcibly ignore the voice suggesting that I tackle all the house projects I haven’t had time for. But, again, the “too exhausted” mentioned above is helping with that. Instead, I’m getting out with The Kid and experiencing the city like a tourist, doing all the things I never get to do because I’m always stuck at work all day.

    But yeah, not much of a break for you, is it? Be like me running down to the office and just hanging out all week. Bleh. I’ll have to keep this in mind when my boyfriend (who often works from home) and I plan an economical vacation! You may have just saved us an argument!

    • If I could have a staycation where I could actually stay around the house and NOT DO ANYTHING, that would actually be quite appealing to me! Unfortunately, that’s just not possible w/the little mess makers that co-habitate w/me. Whoa is me…..

  5. I don’t like the staycation term either. We did go on vacation this summer to my Mom’s house, which is 4 hours away and in Canada, so though it wasn’t an extravagant vacation, it was some sort of a vacation. Usually we just stay home during my husband’s vacation time and we do day trips. I would love to get on a plane and go somewhere, but we just can’t afford it with a family of 6 and 3 pets to kennel ;o(

    • I totally know what you mean — the family vacation has taken on a whole new meaning w/the astronomical cost of airfare these days….

  6. The sad thing is I am a little jealous of you getting to organize your basement. A friend of mine was cleaning out her garage yesterday, but I didn’t think my husband would go for watching me organize as a “family night”.

    No worries though, I’m helping a friend with her house tomorrow.

    (this is just sad I know.)

Leave a Reply

