Woof!

jdin348l     I cannot get it out of my head.  I think about it ALL the time, and I surf the net looking for it.  I want it so badly that it’s completely consumed me. Just the idea of it makes me tingly all over.  Oh, come on now — get your mind out of the gutter, you perverts!  I’m talking about getting a puppy! Yes, we are, in fact, about to bite the bullet and finally bring a dog into the Nucking Futs family.

     We always knew we’d get a family dog someday, because my husband and I both are HUGE dog lovers.  Plus, my daughter’s been bugging us to get a dog from the moment she learned to talk.  We have waited, though, until what we thought was just the right time, and now seems to be that time. With the kids getting ready to finally start a full day of school (versus that ridiculously short two and a half hours of kindergarten), I am starting to get really sad about the house being empty during the day.  I thought I’d be turning cartwheels and doing the happy dance once I finally got a whole day to myself.  But, as it turns out, I think I’m gonna be a little lonely without them.  I’m starting to think that having a furry little four-legged creature around during the day might be just what I need.  So, we are ready to take the plunge.

     Ever since we started talking about the prospect of actually getting a dog, I can’t help but be obsessed with them.  It’s like when you get a new car, and you’re constantly checking out every single car that passes you on the road. I find myself gawking over every dog in the neighborhood lately, trying to see what breeds seem to be good with kids and which ones seem to be a total pain in the ass.  (I most certainly don’t want one of those yippy yappy kinds that stand in the backyard and bark all night long.  You know who you are, you little suckers — you often prevent me from sleeping with the window open, thank you very much!)  I’ve also been googling the hell out of different breeds and asking Facebook friends for advice.  (By the way, asking friends about types of dogs is like asking them which baby name you should go with — it’s like opening a can of worms, and suddenly, everyone is a dog expert.)  After all the obsessing and relentless researching, I think we’ve finally found our puppy.  

     We will be bringing home the little dude mid-September, which is perfect timing with the start of school.  That will give us just the right amount of time to get back into a routine and prepare for our new family member.  The only drawback to this whole master plan, however, is that my son, for whatever reason, is not real crazy about dogs.  He really could do without them altogether, so I’m hoping that helping to raise his own puppy will help in that department.

     So, now, the countdown to dog day afternoon is on!  I’m not sure how I’m going to get my daughter to contain herself in the meantime, because she asks me every single day if today is the day we’re getting the dog.  In six and half weeks, I’ll finally be able to say yes, it is!

6 Responses

  1. I thought you only Twittered. You need to friend request me on Facebook, chickie.

  2. What kind have you finally decided on???

  3. Oh we would love to have a dog, but the poor dog would be so sad. We just don’t have the time. The kids keep begging, promising they will feed it and love it, and walk it, and clean up after it, but like anything, that will last about a week, then I’ll be the one stuck taking care of the dog all the time.

    • Yes, I know what you mean. I am well aware that I will have to take full responsibility for this new little puppy. I’m actually fine with that for now (at least until winter hits & that’s when I’ll be passing the leash over to Mr. Nucking Futs to freeze his little buns off scooping poop)…. 🙂

  4. yea! can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

