June Cleaver: You Can Kiss My Ass

cleaverx     Today is a day that I am seriously considering going on strike.  I swear I work my fingers to the bone around here, and you can’t tell a bit of a difference. I clean up one mess just in time to turn around and find another. How in the world did June Cleaver make it all look so easy with her plastered on smile and her sparkly pearls?  I am convinced that she was popping happy pills, because I don’t know a single stay at home mom who likes her job that much.

      Over the weekend, I spent a solid two hours organizing my daughter’s bedroom into some type of functioning order.  The child had completely trashed the place with doll clothes, stuffed animals, jewelry and books shoved into every conceivable space.  I even went out and bought yet another cute pink storage container from Pottery Barn Kids to try to control some of the clutter.  I had that room looking spic and span by the time I was finished with it.  But after spending some alone time in her room yesterday afternoon, my daughter had yet again managed to restore chaos to an otherwise peaceful environment.  I couldn’t believe how much damage she had done in such a short amount of time.  I was livid that all my hard work was apparently, a big, fat waste of time.  She was very upset to learn that she would not be getting her allowance this weekend. (Actually, I think I’m the one that should be getting the weekly allowance anyway!)

     My daughter is not the only person in this house with whom I have a bone to pick.  My husband, the world’s biggest piler, has once again accumulated an enormous stack of crap on the kitchen counter.  About a year ago, I bought a cute decorative box to keep his mail in, so that it wouldn’t take up countertop space.  Unfortunately, though, he has decided that the cute little decorative box is his own personal file cabinet.  He opens his mail and then shoves it back in the box again, never leaving room for the new bills that come.  So, I’m left with no other choice but to stack them up next to the box, thus defeating the whole purpose of the box! He promised me over the weekend that he would finally go through the box once and for all.  But by the time Sunday night rolled around, guess what was still sitting crammed full of crap, front and center on the kitchen countertop? Needless to say, I went to bed more than just a little irritated.  When I got up Monday morning, however, I was pleasantly surprised to see that the box was finally gone from the kitchen.  Hooray! He had actually listened and must’ve gone through the pile before leaving for work. Naturally, though, this feeling of relief didn’t last that long.  I later found the stupid box shoved under another pile of crap on my husband’s side of our closet upstairs!  Moving the jam-packed cute little decorative box to another location in the house is not really what I consider organizing.  I let him have it later that evening, but I noticed today that the box is still sitting in the closet — 3 days later!

     I’ve often thought about what they’d all do if I just gave up and let the house go.  Would anyone even notice?  Would they care that all their clothes were dirty or that the dust bunnies had turned into the size of real bunnies? Deep down, I already know the answer.  They probably wouldn’t really be bothered, and I am the one who would go crazy.  And, really, how much more nucking futs can I get??!!  Maybe Mrs. Cleaver could lend me some of her happy pills….

7 Responses

  1. I feel your pain. I can’t wait til my kids go back to school on Monday so when I clean their rooms, they stay clean for more than two seconds.

    If it will make you feel any better–check out my organizing site. I just did a neighbor’s 8 yr old daughter’s room.

    http://organizeme-jasmine.blogspot.com

  2. LOL! I feel your pain. My favorite quote: “But after spending some alone time in her room yesterday afternoon, my daughter had yet again managed to restore chaos to an otherwise peaceful environment. ”

    Indeed, June can kiss my ass when she’s done kissing yours.

    • I will promptly send June over in her high heels to kiss yours as soon as she’s done with mine…. 🙂

  3. I feel your pain. You know how anal and organized I am and nobody else in my house seems to share my view of the world. It drives me nuts that I spend all this time organizing and cleaning on the weekends while my hubby takes a nap or watches sports. Thanks so much for the help! What I really need is another wife!

  4. My husband has the piles too (ha-ha!). He has a pile of mail, papers, receipts and whatever else on the kitchen counter. I bought a sorter – well it’s full, so we have to make another pile. We have cute little file baskets in a cabinet, they are all nicely labeled, so he can easily sort and put away all those papers and receipts, he just never does. It must be a guy thing.

    I gave up on the kids – all of their mess is in the basement, so unless I’m doing laundry, I don’t have to go down there and look at it. Plus, the 5 and 6 year olds are weird and don’t play with anything anyway.

Leave a Reply

