So Much For Relaxing….

     I am a runner.  Many of my friends think I’m crazy for WANTING to get out there and pound mile after mile of pavement, but I absolutely love it.  It is like therapy for me — I can listen to whatever music I want, and I can process a million different thoughts in my head, all without someone needing or wanting something from me.  It’s just me and the sidewalk.  I’ve run several half marathons, and I’m very proud to say that I ran my first full marathon last year.  I’m currently training for another half marathon in August and had to put in an eleven mile run yesterday.  At the end of the run, my back was aching and my dogs were barking — all I wanted to do was veg out in our jacuzzi tub and relax.  I felt like I had most definitely earned it.

     It must be noted, however, that I HARDLY EVER use our jacuzzi tub. It is a major pain in the ass to clean, and I don’t ever even have time to take a long shower, let alone soak in a tub.  So, I guess you could say I’m a bit rusty when it comes to the whirlpool tub department.  I thought I was being super organized, though, in getting everything just right for my relaxation party. While the tub was filling up with hot water, I turned on some relaxing music, lit a pleasant-smelling candle, grabbed a bottle of water from the fridge, and strategically placed both my book and my towel within arm’s reach.  One very important thing I forgot to do, though, was to check the positioning of the jacuzzi jets.  Big mistake.

     I was finally ready to climb into my tub full of bliss, so I pushed the “on” button for the jets.  I was immediately blasted with a huge spray of water straight to the face.  I rubbed the water out of my eyes just in time to see the other jets shooting straight up to the ceiling. Water was streaming down from the walls and creating a huge pool all around the tile ledge.  My book, towel, and Ipod were all floating on the tub deck, and my candle was instantly put out by the shower of water coming from the ceiling.  I pushed the “off” button as quickly as I could, but those damn jets had already worked their magic.  I then proceeded to grab a bunch of towels from the linen closet to try to soak up the mess.  I had to dry the walls, the windows, the ledge, and the floor. And did I mention that I was naked? Nothing like cleaning your walls in your birthday suit after an eleven mile run.  Yes, so much for relaxing!

     I don’t think I’ll be using that stupid jacuzzi tub again any time soon. But, if and when I do, you can bet your bottom dollar that I’ll be making sure those damn jets are pointed DOWN.  I have enough messes to clean up here as it is.  So, if you’ll excuse me now, I’m going to go pamper my tired muscles with a good old-fashioned heating pad and avoid the whole water-themed relaxation alternative altogether….

1993-04-20

4 Responses

  1. Hi, I just found you through Today’s Mama. This post cracked me up! lol. Gosh how I would love to have a jacuzzi tub! Sorry your time was ruined!

    • Thanks for checking out my blog! Unfortunately, I often have experiences like my tub fiasco, so I tend to get a lot of writing inspiration from all the stupid things that happen to me on a daily basis. Please check me out again when you get a chance! I popped over to your blog, as well, and I love it! I love that you include pictures of the recipes, because I hate it when you read through a recipe and can’t see an example of what the finished product “should” look like. I’ll have to pass it on to my friends! Thanks again for reading! 🙂

  2. ROTFLMAO!!!!!

Leave a Reply

