Cut It Out!

cool-cartoon-747317     I had to take my kids for haircuts yesterday, which were long overdue.  We always go to one of those salons for kids, you know, where they sell boatloads of toys to terrorize and torture parents into buying them as bribes.  Anything to keep a kid from throwing a fit! Luckily for me, my kids have always been completely fine with getting their hair cut and have never once put up a fight. (However, that’s not to say I haven’t been suckered into wasting money on a random toy or two along the way.)

     When the kids were younger, my husband used to be the one to cut my son’s hair.  The poor child is a victim of a head full of cowlicks, so he is usually sporting a very cute buzz cut.  My husband used to do an o.k. job trimming him up here at home, but then I started noticing that my son had random long hairs here and there about his head.  Plus, I hated having to clean up all the hairs from the chair and floor afterwards.  I eventually fired my husband’s services, and now, my son joins my daughter at the foo-foo kids’ salon.  He loves it, because he can play Spongebob Nintendo games the entire time he’s getting groomed.

     My daughter has an amazing head of thick hair, so she has been going to the salon since she was two.  We keep it in a short bob, which needs maintenance about every five to six weeks.  It’s not the easiest style to cut, because you have to have a very steady hand to keep it from being uneven. On occasion, we’ve gotten all the way home to realize that it’s completely lopsided.  We’ve had to get back in the car and drive all the way back to the salon, which is a total pain in the ass. My daughter has also been blessed with the most gorgeous highlights that I’d give anything to have myself.  She just loves to tell people that God gave her highlights, and Mama has to pay for hers. Awesome, but true!  She has definitely got some good hair, and the stylists are always trying to do funky things with it after a trim. Yesterday, I gave in and let her have some kind of glitter crap sprayed in it.  Of course, we now have glitter strung about our house everywhere as a result.

     I must say that I have to give props to those kid stylists.  We have been in there many times and witnessed other kids put up a knock-down, drag-out fight prior to getting a haircut.  And then, once they are finally transferred to the super cool little cars that serve as styling chairs, they wiggle and flail around like fish out of water.  But, somehow, those ladies seem to be able to keep calm, cool, and collected enough to trim up the little devils in a timely fashion.  I thank my lucky stars that my kids have never put me or any of those stylists through that kind of madness.  Guess you’ve gotta be grateful for the little things in life sometimes.  

     How do your kids react to a visit to the barber shop or salon?  Do you have to bribe them with candy or toys to get business conducted? Is a glass of wine a standard requirement for you afterwards?

One Response

  1. I remember trimming Amanda’s hair once when she was about 7 or 8 and nipping her ear with the scissors. All was fine, she didn’t even really notice until Chandler piped up with “ooo your ear is bleeding!” Amanda went balistic then. Yes, it was a pretty good slice, but all would have been fine if then 4 year old Chandler would have kept her trap shut!

Leave a Reply

