Multiples of Three’s

2003-04-08

     You know how they say bad things happen in three’s?  Well, in my house, they tend to happen in MULTIPLES of three’s!  It’s the whole snowball effect — everything breaks at once, goes wrong at once, or just sucks all at once.  

     In the past month, we have had our ice maker, sprinkler system, dryer, and oven all break one right after the other, as well as a rather large tear in the corner of our sofa cushion. And, anyone who has dealt with repair work knows what a huge pain in the ass it is to have to clear your whole day to wait around for these people to show up. And, wouldn’t you know that we just so happened to miss the warranty time period by a few weeks time with each and every one of these issues.  Translation:  we need to grow more money trees in the backyard.

     As if these things were not problematic enough, my husband was in a car accident on his way home from work last night.  He was supposed to be picking up the goods to make a Mexican dinner here, and I needed to add one more thing to the grocery list.  When I called him, he said he’d just been in a wreck and would call me back.  I had no details other than that he wasn’t hurt.  I sat on pins and needles waiting to hear back from him and having to dodge questions from the kids, because naturally, their little sponge-like ears picked up on our conversation.  The first thing my daughter asked was if Daddy was playing on his phone when he crashed his car.  I must say that she’s very intuitive because this is an issue I’ve bitched about to him many times over.  I, myself, have been guilty of texting while driving in the past, but I’ve tried to be better about it lately, especially after seeing some pretty disturbing results of the dangers of doing just this.  I’m constantly harping on my husband to lay off the phone business while in the car.  When he finally called me back, it turned out that he actually WASN’T using his phone, and some woman turned right in front of him at an intersection.  

    And, as usually is the case, the drama of the situation didn’t end there.  My husband told me that I’d have to pick him up at the police station!  He didn’t realize it, but his driver’s license had just expired a couple of weeks ago, and the insurance card in his wallet was also expired by a few days.  I guess it’s standard procedure that they had to take him in the back of the squad car to the station and have him bond out.  (And, by the way, I didn’t even know what that meant until last night.)  I decided to ask the teenage girls across the street to come over and stay with the kids.  I didn’t think dragging them along with me would be such a good thing.  I could just see them going to camp the next day and telling their counselors that they picked their daddy up at the police station last night.

     So, now, in addition to all the other crap for which we’ve had to shell out money lately, I’m sure we’ll have to pay some kind of deductible AND deal with the hassle of rental cars, insurance, etc. Don’t get me wrong, I’m grateful that no one was physically hurt — that is obviously THE most important thing.  But, why is it that it just had to happen on top of all the other freaking catastrophes? Did someone put a curse on our house or something?

     What types of domino effects have happened in your world?  How do you handle a big pile of problems all at once?  Maybe you know something I don’t know….

2 Responses

  1. Here’s how I would handle those situations: Retreat to a corner, curl up in a ball, start rocking back & forth muttering to myself like a crazy person “Everything will be alright.” J/K–but don’t you want to sometimes?

    We had a dishwasher break, a water line to the fridge bust & ruin our wood floors, a leak in the roof, and a faucet break–all real close to each other a few years back. I decided that I was somehow attracting water to my house–and tried to make peace with said element. (you can laugh–it was a last ditch effort to prevent any more disasters)

    • I guess you really gave new meaning to the phrase “When it rains, it pours”!! Wow, that does suck!

      P.S. I’m typing this from my curled up ball in the corner…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

