Our New Zoo Pals

2004-09-13[1]    

     Yesterday, we decided to take the kids to the zoo, and it just so happened to be the hottest day of the year so far here in my parents’ town.  The simple fact that the kids immediately ran from the parking lot to get to the shade when we first got there was probably not a good sign.  Despite the blazing heat, though, we managed to have a really good time.

     One of the biggest highlights for my son was getting to pet a ten-foot Burmese python.  The handlers had brought it outside to slither through the grass and allowed anyone crazy brave enough to touch it.  My son is normally a little leery about approaching new animals, but he completely surprised me and bent right down in the grass to get to know Monty, the python, a little better.  He was totally fascinated by this montrosity of a snake, and I pray to God that he doesn’t ask me for a pet one someday.  I, for one, am most definitely NOT a snake fan!

     The highlight for my daughter was getting to go inside the camel barn and pet Miley, the new baby camel.  My daughter absolutely LOVES any and all animals, and apparently, Miley could sense this.  She immediately walked right up to my daughter and soaked up all of her attention.  Luckily, my daughter had brought along her little digital camera and captured some very unfocused pictures of the special meet-and-greet.

     Naturally, all of these exciting moments couldn’t last forever, especially in the extreme temperatures.  My son started to whine and complain about being hot and tired, so we decided to seek out every misting station that we could find throughout the zoo.  The cold water helped to pacify him for a bit, but he then decided to flat-out refuse to walk any further.  Rather than subject myself and the whole crew of us to his pity party, I hoisted him on my back and piggy-backed him all the way up the hill to the parking lot. 

     By the time we reached the car, I felt like I’d just gone through boot camp.  I was dripping with sweat, and my back felt like it could break.  All in all, though, we had an absolute blast.  I mean, how often can you really say you spent the day with a python and a camel??!!

2 Responses

  1. You gave your son a piggyback ride? Across Mesker Zoo? Today? And you lived to write about it?

    Kudos. You can now take a week off from working out!

  2. I wanna pet the baby camel!!

Leave a Reply

