Shame On You!

     Throughout the past couple months of the spring sports season, I’ve repeatedly heard stories about the behavior of obnoxious parents on the sidelines.  They’re yelling, they’re screaming, they’re throwing f-bombs, all in the presence of their VERY young and VERY impressionable children. These people should truly be ashamed of themselves for such EXTREMELY unsportsmanlike conduct.  Don’t they get it that their kids are watching their every move???!!!

     As you may recall, I had a “brain vacation day” a couple of weeks ago, where I completely screwed up the time for my son’s make-up soccer game. As it turned out, my mental block ended up to be a good thing.  I guess there was a little boy on the other team who was kicking, pushing, tripping, punching, and yelling at our players throughout the entire game. Since there were no refs at this particular make-up game, there was no one to call him out on his behavior except his parents, who apparently sat there and never said a word.  The parents of our team finally had had enough and insisted that the other coach take out this kid.  His parents definitely had something to say then. They unleashed a firestorm of fury on the coaches, which prompted other parents to also get involved.  It then turned into a big shouting match right in front of two whole teams of six year old boys. These “adults” clearly lost all perspective of the fact that this was KINDERGARTEN soccer, not the World Cup.

     Baseball is another sport that supposedly brings out the worst in some of the parents.  Another mom was telling me about a dad who got so out of line at her nine year old’s game that he was even slapped with a fine. He got in the face of the ELEVEN YEAR OLD umpire who volunteered his time FOR FREE to spit out every four letter word he could think of over a call he didn’t like.  The umpire just stood there in shock while he was belittled in front of everyone.  

     You have to wonder what is wrong with these people.  Are they stressed about the economy?  Are they unhappy with their status in life?  Are they trying to live vicariously through their kids?  Whatever their reason, there is absolutely no excuse to behave like that, especially when their kids are watching.  They are not only setting a horrible example, but they are also making a complete ass out of themselves.  I know we live in a ridiculously competitive world, but a simple reality check seems to be in order for some people.  How can you call yourself the parent when you’re the one acting like the child?

cartoon

2 Responses

  1. so true! I like my kids to want to be aggresive & win, but I also understand that nobody I know (or raise) is going to the Olympics or going pro….it’s just not that common. I think what bothers me most is not the poor sportsmanship they’re teaching their kids (kids usually pick up that it’s not cool) as much as teaching them to question & berate authority. Is this really what we want our kids to learn?

    • I hear ya loud & clear. When I was a teacher, it was so hard for me to bite my tongue sometimes when I could see exactly why some kids were the way they were. If the parents don’t respect authority, how can the kids be expected to? It’s a vicious battle.

Leave a Reply

