Graduation Day

1213295148b5208o     I can hardly believe it, but my babies are graduating from kindergarten today!  I must’ve blinked and the time just fast-forwarded six years. People have always forewarned me that kids grow up way too fast, and that has never felt more true than today.

     Throughout this whole school year, I’ve thought about how nice it would be for them to be in school all day, instead of just the quick two and a half hours that they’re there now.  I’ve thought about how lunchtime is such a frustrating and chaotic experience on most days. And, I’ve thought about how much I’d love to have time to myself in the afternoons.  Now, I’m suddenly realizing that I’m most certainly going to miss talking to them about their day at lunch, and that my afternoons are going to be a little lonely without their sweet little faces and funny little remarks.  Quite simply, I’m going to miss the little boogers.

     I’m also realizing how little by little, they are becoming less dependent on me, which isn’t necessarily such a bad thing.  However, I know that the more time they spend away from me, the more time they have to be influenced by others.  I cannot control what their little ears hear from their friends at school.  Some of the things they’ve picked up from others even this year makes me grit my teeth.  They are so innocent and naive right now, and it makes me sad to think about that purity slipping away.  

     I just wish I could preserve all the things that I love about this age — if I could just bottle it up and save it forever.  Right now, they love being with me more than anyone in this world.  They are always telling me they love me and giving me hugs and kisses.  They believe pretty much everything I tell them.  They constantly make me laugh with all the goofy stories that come out of their mouths.  They truly are my favorite two people on this earth.

     So, given my current emotional state, I’m not quite sure how I’m going to make it through this graduation “ceremony” this morning. I’ve got a giant lump in my throat and a waterfall ready to spill from my eyes at any moment.  Stay tuned, because if I can see through my tears to type, I’ll post another entry about the big event later this afternoon.  Bring on the Kleenex….

Leave a Reply

