Negativity Positively Sucks

    1995-11-13

     When I was at the beach yesterday avoiding the zillions of things I should have been doing, I started thinking about how judgmental and petty the world seems to be.  I was laying there watching these college-aged girls giving every person who walked by the old once-over.  They would whisper and giggle and roll their eyes, clearly criticizing something about the person’s physical appearance.  It was truly nauseating to me.  

     Why is it that people, especially women, do this to each other? Haven’t we got enough things to worry about without having someone critique us from head to toe?  I realize that many people knock others down to pick themselves up.  To me, though, it is so much more interesting and challenging to try to find the good things in a person. Anybody can find the negative, but it takes some real brain power to find the positive.  

     I really want to instill this idea into my kids’ little minds as early as possible.  They are so innocent and oblivious to people’s differences right now.  They do not see color or weight or namebrands.  To them, people are just people.  Why can’t we all think like that?  Why do we have to become so jaded and opinionated as we get older?  I guess that’s why they say that childhood is such a precious time.  

     What particular value do you hope to instill in your kids?  How do you intend to teach it to them?

4 Responses

  1. I find myself giving my kids the same ideas that I got from my mother. I’m sure she told me lots of things, but the ones that stuck with me are: “Pretty is as Pretty does.” and “If you’re not part of the solution, you’re part of the problem”. One other lesson that she taught by her actions & not words is: if you don’t need it, give it away to someone who does.

    My Mom was not the greatest, and passed away several years ago, but I find that these mind-sets have governed most of my actions (and for the better)–so I’m hoping that my kids will learn these too.

    • I know, isn’t it funny how we used to think our moms couldn’t possibly know what they were talking about, and now we find ourselves quoting them word for word with our own kids??!! It sounds like your mom taught you a lot of valuable lessons…. Hopefully it won’t take our kids 30+ years to figure out that we aren’t idiots!

  2. We always tell our girls that we are much more interested in their character than anything else – grades, how neat they keep their rooms, etc. Of course that all goes back to their character. If they work up to their potential, all the rest will fall into place…they will get good grades, they will keep their rooms neat, etc. all because they take pride in that part of their character.

    • Such a great lesson, especially for girls. All the media crapola just feeds their little minds with a superficial image of what they should strive to be — drives me crazy! Hopefully, our kids will be smarter than that & learn to think for themselves….

Leave a Reply

