Oh No He Didn’t!

     When I am over-stressed with the kids, my husband just really doesn’t know the right thing to say.  In fact, he quite often says all the WRONG things. I know he doesn’t do it intentionally — it’s just that he simply doesn’t get it!  

     Earlier this week, he had to travel for business to New York City.  I, of course, was left to man the fort here at home.  You might recall that I didn’t have a particularly good start to the week (i.e. — my son’s stubborn showdown before school).  That very same day, my daughter had to put her own unique stamp on my stress level.  She was so caught up in watching “Tom and Jerry” on t.v., that she pooped in her pants and told no one about it.  Thanks to my bloodhound-like nose, I discovered her dirty little secret and proceeded to clean up yet another mess.  (Do I have a shitty job or what??!!)

     Around that time, I received a text from my husband telling me he was out to dinner with a client and asking me how the day went.  I told him about my morning from hell in trying to get my son to school, as well as my daughter’s lazy crap in the pants story.  His response back:  “At least you don’t have to stay out late and drink like I do.”

     I literally think steam blew out my ears when I read those words.  At least I didn’t have to go out to a fancy dinner, have drinks served to me, and have someone else clean up the mess?  Are you kidding me?  Yes, I can see how that’s soooo much worse than cleaning smeared shit out of someone’s underwear!!!!  Needless to say, I didn’t even bother to respond because I was afraid that my fire breath might just burn my iPhone.  He felt bad the next day when I told him about it, but he still doesn’t understand how much of a stab a comment like that can be.  When you’re stuck down in the trenches of motherhood, you need someone with whom you can commiserate.  There’s a reason why they say misery loves company.

     Do you have similar “Oh no he didn’t!” stories?  How do you handle these moments with your spouse?

 

swa0321l

3 Responses

  1. My husband travels constantly for business. He does a ton of wining and dining and then he’ll call to tell me about “the best dinner” he just had at some four star restaurant. He still doesn’t get why it irks me to no end. Men? Are dense.

    • Yeah, I just love to hear about the fabulous sushi dinner he’s eating while I’m picking around a plate of mac n cheese….

  2. So understand. I hate when my husband comes home from a business dinner or trip where he was ined and dined and I ask him what he ate. Of course it was some elaborate meal with a decadent dessert. Then he asked me wht I had and usually the answer is ends of a half eaten peanut butter and jelly sandwich or kraft macaroni and cheese. Pretty much my idet at this point of my life.

Leave a Reply

