Just Say No!

gth0268l

One thing that aggravates the living hell out of me is when people put me on the spot.  I’m not very good at saying no, so I often fumble for words when somebody asks me face to face to do something that I don’t want to do.  I wish I could think on my feet more quickly, but that is not really how I roll. So, when one of the teachers of my twins’ after school cooking class asked me to be a parent volunteer for next week, I once again found myself stuttering for a response.  I was finally able to tell her that I’d have to check my schedule to see what I have going on that day.  This brings me to my dilemma — I have my favorite yoga class going on that day!  Now, this may sound like a lame excuse to some, but I don’t get a whole lot of “me” time. Those quick two and a half hours that my kids have kindergarten in the morning go by faster than I can blink my eyes.  Plus, believe you me, I have done my fair share of volunteering in both of their classrooms repeatedly throughout the school year.  So, is it sooo terrible for me to just say no?  I think I’m more than justified.  I just wish someone else would tell them no for me….

4 Responses

  1. You know me – I’ll tell them no for you!

  2. you can always dress it up and say, “I’d really rather not.”

    • I just really suck at thinking on my feet. If only I could have someone like you waiting in the distance with cue cards…..

Leave a Reply

