One Lucky Mama

2005-05-08

Hooray for Mother’s Day!  Up until this morning, I wasn’t so sure today would be any different than any other day.  My daughter has been bugging me for days to help her make my own Mother’s Day present, which I refused to do, and I was feeling a little jilted having only received a bouquet of dead dandelions my daughter had picked from a neighbor’s yard for me. So, it was much to my pleasant surprise this morning when I received <drumroll please> ………………… BREAKFAST IN BED!  My husband and kids completely shocked me with a Belgian waffle, strawberries, fresh-squeezed orange juice, and a hand-picked card from each one of them.  The little smiles on my twins’ faces were ear to ear with excitement — they couldn’t wait for me to see the careful attention they had put into not only picking out my cards but signing them, as well.  My daughter’s was a given — a super cute dog wagging his tail (she never passes up a good dog card).  My son’s, though, was the absolute best.  It was a musical card that read, “Every time I think of you…” on the front. Now, just looking at this card, I was quite certain that it was not meant to be from a son to his mother.  It was clearly a lovey, dovey husband to wife card.  When I opened it up, a song started playing, “I melt every time you look at me that way”, and it read, “I fall in love all over again.”  As soon as the song began to play, my son beamed with pride as he broke out into his own choreographed interpretation of the words.  I tried my hardest not to laugh, but before I knew it, tears were streaming down my face from trying to contain myself.  He was clearly over the moon with his selection, and I loved every minute of his unique display of affection.  I feel like the luckiest mama in the world, and I can’t think of a better way to start off the day.  I feel like I’m in the Twilight Zone because each of my kids has repeatedly asked me if I need anything.  I know they’re being prompted by their daddy, but, hey, I’ll take what I can get!  Now, if only everyone will continue to be this thoughtful and sweet for the remainder of the day….

Leave a Reply

