The Ugly Green Monster

Every mother has her fair share of fun with sibling rivalry.  With twins, however, there are even more issues that tend to errupt the general state of everyday being.  For example, even though I have boy/girl twins, they often seem to have the same set of friends.  In the past, this hasn’t really been a problem, but now that they’re older, jealousy has reared its ugly green head and is ready for a throw-down.  Yesterday after school, we had a playdate here with a little girl from my son’s class who also happens to be on my daughter’s soccer team. Because it was a girl, my daughter just assumed that it was HER playdate.  She was working overtime to hold this little girl’s attention, pulling out every toy imaginable and cracking every funny joke she could possibly remember. The child was truly a one girl dog and pony show.  She wore me out just watching her in action.  At some point, though, the little playdate girl decided that she wanted to hang with my son as well (I’m pretty sure there’s a bit of a mutual crush going on there). This was absolutely NOT acceptable to my daughter in any way, shape or form.  My daughter was completely stunned and could not understand why she was no longer the star of the show.  The lip started quivering, the arms assumed the huff and puff position, and the tears flowed like beer from a frat keg.  I couldn’t help but feel bad for her because I knew her feelings were really hurt.  At six years of age, she can’t possibly understand the male/female dynamic.  (Hell, I still don’t understand it three decades later!)  I tried my best to explain that sometimes it’s ok to share friends, but rationalizing with an hysterical six year old was getting me absolutely nowhere.  I decided to let her cry it out and then talked to her calmly about it before she went to bed last night. After having some time to think about it, I realize that this is just the start of one emotional meltdown after another.  My daughter’s friends will most definitely be interested in what my son and his friends are doing, especially as they get older and hormones start kicking in.  Good Lord, are we in for a wild ride…..

2008-12-09

3 Responses

  1. Oh, honey, am I ever with you on this one. And the worst part is that my son (probably alot like yours) doesn’t even really have to try, or care, and they (both boys and girls) just seem to gravitate towards him. Meanwhile, my stalker-in-the-making daughter just can’t seem to catch a break.

    If you do figure out how you’re gonna explain that to them, by the way, wouldya pass the info along???

    • “Jo Anna” — I wish to God I knew where to even begin! Is it even possible to explain men at all? If I do figure it out, you’ll have to tune in when I’m on Oprah (remember, she’s the master of the universe so I’m sure she’d be all over me to make an appearance on her show!) …… 🙂

  2. Great post thanks

Leave a Reply

