Must…Get…Sleep

bstn212l1

I know I must sound like a broken record, but I keep telling myself that I simply MUST go to bed earlier at night.  Six hours of sleep just isn’t cutting it for me anymore.  I am like a crazed zombie, especially late afternoon when I hit the great wall of exhaustion.  I find myself staring right through my kids as they try to have some long-winded conversation with me — I can see their mouths moving, but my mind has run away to la-la land.  All I can think about is curling up in a ball and chilling with Mr. Sandman.  For whatever reason, though, I can’t seem to get my act together at night to crawl into bed at a decent time. Once I finally get the kids tucked away, I absolutely have to have some down time for myself.  That’s when I eat dinner and watch my stupid, mindless t.v. shows.  And, yes, I am fully aware that I’m not advancing my intelligence level by tuning in to Bret Michael’s “Rock of Love Tour Bus”, but it helps me to wind down and relax. Plus, how can you not be entertained by a bunch of strippers fighting over a 40-something year old, washed up rock star with really horrible hair extensions??!!  I miss the days of being able to function like a champ on as little as three or four hours of sleep.  What ever happened to those days? Oh yeah…those kids of mine and a whole decade and a half of aging sucked them right up….

Leave a Reply

