Germs Be Gone

Ask any of my friends and family, and they will tell you that I am a bit of a germ-a-phobe. When my twins were little, I used to really go overboard, wiping anything and everything with disinfectant.  As they’ve grown older and I’ve grown tired, I tend to let a lot of things go now days.  For example, I have fully embraced the three second rule, especially if the food falls on our own floor.  A little dust-off and you’re good to go.  However, my kids are like trained dogs and know that the first thing we do when we walk in the door is to wash our hands.  And whether they want to or not, I make sure their friends abide by this rule when they come over, as well. And judging from my observations, kids just flat out do not know how to properly wash their hands!  I swear they think it’s a race to see how fast they can whiz right through it. There’s no scrubbing, no lathering, and very little rinsing going on.  I have been known to make my kids, as well as their friends, re-wash what was never really washed in the first place. I may not be able to control every little thing they come in contact with when they are in public, but I can certainly try to scrub it off when we get home. Mentally, it just makes me feel better to at least attempt to ward off the latest, greatest virus in town, like this crazy swine flu crap that the media is trying to whip us into a frenzy over. I understand it’s their job to inform us about this situation, but do they really need to scare the hell out of the public? Don’t get me wrong, I certainly don’t want any pig germs to come strutting into my world any time soon.  I just think that, like everything else, the news channels are over-dramatizing the so-called epidemic.  Just to be on the safe side, though, we will continue to scrub our little piggies all the way home (no pun intended)….

vsh0741l

2 Responses

  1. I’m so glad that a fellow germaphobe (recovering), is not jumping on the swine flu let’s-all-panic bandwagon.

    It’s not swine plague–it’s another strain of an influenza virus…and we all know a very good way to prevent the flu: hand washing!

Leave a Reply

