Mama Said Knock You Out

I know it’s a rhetorical question, but why do kids have to be so damn mean? It absolutely blows my mind, but apparently, bullying starts as early as kindergarten these days.   It has been taking place on the playground at my kids’ school lately (on those rare occasions when they get to play outside), and my poor daughter seems to be the victim of it.  I got a call from her teacher last week saying that she was pushed on the ground and was really upset and crying.  When I asked her about it later that afternoon, she grew very quiet and didn’t really want to discuss it.  The only thing I could get out of her was that it was a group of boys and that she couldn’t get away from them.  My blood was boiling as I was listening to her quivering little voice, and I just wanted to hop in my car and hunt down these no-good little shits. Nobody messes with my baby!  I may be small, but I am scrappy!  And I couldn’t help but wonder, where in the world were the adults?!  I guess there were substitute teachers outside with the kids that day, but don’t these people have eyes?  Did they not see these punks and the havoc they were wreaking?  Have they not seen how cute and sweet my daughter is?  The more I think about it, the more my mother bear instinct kicks in full force, and I just want to protect my cub.  A big part of me wants to hide behind a tree and be her playground bodyguard. However, I know that I cannot always be there to get her out of trouble. So, we’ve been talking about ways that she can try to get away from situations like last week.  I’m not talking about karate chopping or beating somebody down, but I do want her to be able to defend herself.  It makes me incredibly sad, but I guess this is the reality that today’s kids have to face. I may have to hire a security team by the time she gets to junior high because I don’t think my heart can take it.

1997-09-12-1

3 Responses

  1. One good punch in the right place and they won’t mess with her again! 🙂

  2. So I read this earlier and thought… yep… that’s just what happens and remembered back to all the times bullies acted not very nice to one of my kids… but didn’t post a comment… THEN my 10 yo came home telling me what she was called in class today by a child who often drops f bombs and is mean to all the kids… where the teacher could hear… and the teacher didn’t say anything. THAT PISSES ME OFF! That teacher recieved an email asking her to be aware of the bad language in her classroom and what her policy on name calling is. I feel like sending her an email telling her what I really think…

    • That is just all kinds of wrong! Clearly, that teacher needs to tune up her listening ears and be more aware of what’s going on in her classroom. Your poor 10 year old! This is yet another reason why I wish I was a magician and could abracadabra my kids into a bubble….

Leave a Reply

