Time Flies When You’re Having Fun

1998-05-11

It is so hard for me to believe, but my babies turned six today. Where in the world did the time go???  I admit that I don’t really miss the baby stage, but I have to say that I have absolutely LOVED the age of five.  It is, by far, my favorite age.  Over this past year, I have simply adored the zillions of comments that have literally made me laugh out loud till my belly hurts. The wheels in their little heads seem to be constantly in motion, questioning anything and everything that comes their way.  Now, I’ll be the first to admit that many of these interrogations have led me to seek sanity in more than one glass of vino, but I love that they are completely fascinated by EVERYTHING around them. Wouldn’t life be so much more interesting if, as adults, we also took an interest in ALL of our surroundings?  All we do is bitch and moan and hope for the next day to hurry up and get here. Kids just live in the moment and seem to be all the more happy for it.  It is such a bittersweet feeling for me to know that we are entering yet another year of growth and change.   I’m so afraid that with each passing year, they will decide that it’s not such a cool thing to hug me and hold my hand.  So, in the meantime, I plan to hold on dearly for life to moments like today when each one of my kids whispered separately in my ear, “Thanks for giving me the best birthday ever, Mommy!”  Little do they know, that they’ve given ME the best of EVERYTHING with each year that I’ve been lucky enough to be Mommy to them, the absolute coolest little kids one could ever know.

10 Responses

  1. sigh . . . I remember when my 6yo was born, thinking – he will go to kindergarten someday! It seemed so far away – and that day is now and I have 3 kids and a minivan! WHOA! 😉

    • “Rachael” — I know exactly what you mean….I also thought kindergarten seemed like an eternity away, and now, they’re about to graduate and move into first grade! If I could only freeze time….

  2. Hurray for a September birthday, my girl doesn’t even start Kindergarten til August. I felt a small hint that I might miss her (my youngest of three) when I started talking to an empty van whilst on my way to pick her up from preschool, but I’m sure it will be too fun to hear what adventures she comes home to tell me.

  3. Hi nice blog 🙂 I can see a lot of effort has been put in.

  4. Funny stories, and yes time does fly when the fun is multiplied! I have a set of 7-year old twins and a set of 2-year old triplets. We belong to a playdate group where all moms have at least one set of multiples (it’s a lot of chaotic fun!). Would be great to find a blog that entertains and provides advice to mothers like us….how to deal with the unique issues with multiples like fostering individuality, healthy competition, etc; how to still have a life with your husband after multiples (still haven’t figured that one out); how to save money in these economic times and still get all the things that multiples need; how you decide to have another child (or children!!) after the first set of multiples; etc. Not sure if you had plans to insert real-life advice into your blog, but if you did I have a large network of moms of multiples that would whole-heartedly start reading this every day!

    • Thanks so much for your comments, “tripledoublemom”! I actually sent you an email addressing your question about providing advice. I’d love to have your network become readers of my blog! 🙂

  5. You do have the most adorable, wonderful 6yr old twins in the whole wild world! They are “GRAND”children!
    lv,lu

  6. I found this blog through Google. Great information. Will be back in the future!

Leave a Reply

