Roll Out the Red Carpet!

So, today is my birthday, (happy birthday to me!), and for the life of me, I cannot understand why some people feel weird about telling other people that it’s their birthday.  It’s the one day where you might possibly get some sort of special attention that you might not otherwise receive.  Who wouldn’t want that?!  You kidding me?  I most certainly do!  I’m just a squirrel trying to get a nut.  Bring on the special treatment!  I want to wear a shirt all day today that says, “YOU HAVE TO BE NICE TO ME TODAY BECAUSE IT’S MY BIRTHDAY!” People generally do tend to treat you better if they know that it’s your big day.  Maybe if I advertised a bit more, all those crazy mom drivers blocking the carpool line at kindergarten drop-off this morning would’ve hightailed it out of the way for the birthday girl.  And maybe the selfish little man that zoomed in front of me at the car wash would’ve allowed the honorable me to have first dibs.  Believe you me, I’ve been reminding my kids for days that Mommy’s birthday is coming up. And I’m sure I’ll be reminding them every single five minutes all day long when they continuously forget that I’m supposed to be the queen for the day.  I know it’s a pipe dream, but I’m holding out hope for the red carpet and rose petals. Realistically, though, I’ll settle for their little hugs and kisses and no trips to the emergency room.

358-may-4-may-10-2008-happy-birthday1

6 Responses

  1. I think it’s an only child thing…I know that I want everyone to make a big deal about my birthday too! 🙂

  2. i love it! i starting “reminding” craig of my bday months ahead of time. i just did it last night actually and my bday isn’t until july!

  3. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I would let you cut in front of me in carpool line! But I’m not that kind of mom… I make my kids do back door walkers and wait til the other cars come (the moms that get there early to park and walk to get their kids) so I can drive right up and they hop right in! They don’t mind waiting, they get to talk to friends! Which, is much better than walking with their MOTHER! Hope you had a GREAT bday!

    • “Kim” — thanks for the bday wishes! The carpool line always creates a lot of heated topics, doesn’t it?! 🙂

  4. To me baby…. everyday is your birthday!!! You are that darn special!!!

Leave a Reply

