The Olden Days

So, my birthday is coming up this week, and my daughter keeps talking to me about growing up in “the olden days.”  Since kids have absolutely no sense of time whatsoever, to her, I might as well have been roaming with the dinosaurs when I was a wee tot.  Even though I truly believe age is just a number, I have to say that she’s not helping me feel any younger with these discussions!  I’ve gotten all kinds of interrogations about whether they had t.v., ice cream, Star Wars, and even toilet paper when I was a young girl. When these interrogations first began, I thought they were kinda funny and even a bit cute. However, as I approach the start of yet another year of my life, I’m starting to feel like I need to really put things into perspective here. No, we did not have Wii back then, but we sure as hell had Atari!  No, we did not have Webkinz, but we sure as shootin’ had Cabbage Patch Kids! And no, we did not have ITunes, but you can bet your patooty that we’d stick our cassette tape recorder up to the radio to tape our favorite songs! So, yes, things may be faster and more accessible now days, but they are also much more complicated and force kids to grow up WAY too fast. No, I wouldn’t trade those “olden days” for anything in this world!

cwln244l

6 Responses

  1. I hear ya! Last week, on my birthday, my kids asked me if I grew up the same as “Little House on the Prairie.” If I had, I would probably be much better at braiding hair!

    • Good God, I could not have lived on the prairie. Those women were nothing but slaves with bonnets….wait, I guess we are too, just minus the bonnets…. 🙂

  2. I am so with you. Happy Birthday! I’m adding on another year myself tomorrow, so I know how ya feel.

    • Thanks for the bday wishes! It’s actually not until Thursday, but age seems to be the theme of a lot of our conversations around here for some reason. I’m beginning to wonder if I’m sprouting some new gray hairs or if I’ve started hobbling around or something — not sure why my kids are so fascinated with this lately. Hope you have a fabulous birthday yourself tomorrow! Hopefully, you’re setting your expectations low so you can be pleasantly surprised when you’re actually treated like a queen for a day — I know, not likely, right? A girl can dream though…. 🙂

  3. Happy almost birthday! 🙂

    • Thank you, “Twenty Four At Heart”! I have to tell you that I absolutely LOVE your blog! You are hilarious! I don’t have a lot of time to read many other blogs, but yours is one that I make sure I do. Your clitoris story & the tanning bed story were priceless! Keep the laughs coming…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

