Hippity Hop History

dre0942lFor the past couple of days, I’ve been wondering how in the world the whole Easter bunny concept came to be and what the hell eggs have to do with a rabbit!  It’s pretty amazing that no one ever seems to question the association of an oversized hare who hides plastic eggs with the resurrection of Jesus.  I am almost 37 years old and have never once thought to figure out if there’s even a remote connection!

What I found out is that apparently, rabbits and eggs are both symbols of fertility and new life, which is supposed to be what Spring is all about, right?   Well, supposedly, back in the 1700s, it was believed that a certain rabbit spirit known as “Oschter Haws” would come to the homes of well-behaved children and plop out a nest of brightly colored eggs.  Kids would actually go around their homes and yards and set up nests for this pregnant bunny to give birth to these coveted eggs.

Seriously?  It really all goes back to an egg-laying bunny who only went into labor in the homes of good girls and boys?  Maybe it’s just me, but I find this a bit disturbing.  So, you mean to tell me that we stain our hands dyeing hard-boiled eggs, dress up our kids and parade them to the mall to sit on the laps of a bunch of underpaid bunny wannabes, spend oodles of money on a bunch of sugar-laced, cavity-inducing crap, and hide plastic ovals in every possible crevice of our homes, all in the name of a horny hare who’s ready to pop?

I almost wish I wouldn’t have Googled the history of this crazy holiday tradition, because in this case, I really think ignorance is bliss.  In fact, it is just plain odd!  I pray to God that like me, my kids can go a couple more decades before they think to investigate this wacky notion.  We’ll just go on pretending like it’s all cute and innocent fun to find all the abandoned after-birth of some overgrown long-eared animal lying about the living room.  Happy Easter everyone!

4 Responses

  1. Great post! I thought this week about googling the easter bunny.

  2. Good post! Thanks for summing it all up. I too googled the easter bunny but didn’t want to do a write up so I found a funny video instead.

  3. “Thank ya Easter Bunny, Bok Bok!!”

  4. When you Googled Easter Eggs was ther no mention of “eggs’, as related to “new life”, or the relavance of the resurrection?

Leave a Reply

