The Right To Remain Silent

Do you ever have those mornings where you just want to yell “SHUT THE HELL UP!” at the top of your lungs?  Well, that would be today for me.  I am not typically a morning person anyway, so silence is really preferred by me until at least 8 or 9 a.m. Unfortunately, though, the whole stay-at-home mom gig doesn’t quite allow for that kind of peaceful daybreak.  I am usually greeted by non-stop chatter, filled with a crapload of unanswerable, rhetorical questions. How am I supposed to respond to a monologue about all the different levels in the Indiana Jones Wii game, as well as give advice on how to earn extra points in a game that I’ve never even played, all at the ass crack of dawn?  I have to somehow manage to turn my robotic auto-pilot switch on because that is the only way I can whiz through the morning routine without losing my marbles. It’s not that I’m unhappy to see my kids’ fresh little shiny faces in the morning — I’m grateful for that each and every day.  I just don’t need to hear those little faces talk a mile a minute before my eyes even have a chance to adjust to the daylight.  Silence is golden, but I guess my kids seem to think noise is platinum.

dcrn140l

5 Responses

  1. right with ya girl!my 8 year old blasting out ” love story ” on the piano and with very immature vocals at 6:45 in preparation for the school talent show this morning… Do theynot have mercy on their elders?

    • What an oh-so-pleasant get-you-up-and-go wake up call! You should win the talent show, sister, for the incredible ability to endure such early morning torture…just sayin…. 🙂

  2. I blow my top now and then. That’s when the kids know they’ve pushed the “noise level” too far. Sometimes my ears buzz, or as I refer to it…bleed.

    Have you seen this book. Just heard the author on NPR yesterday. Sounds funny and cathartic!!

    • What’s the name of the book? Cathartic — always a good thing for a mom at her wits’ end…. 🙂

  3. Is sounds like English….but I cannot understand a word you are saying!!!!

Leave a Reply

