I Am Not a Looky-Loo!

I would not really categorize myself as a modest person (my kids took care of that for me!), but I am a far cry from some of the women in the locker room at my gym. I have no problem changing there — I’m not one of those people who has to go behind closed doors to take my shirt off.  However, it is such a pet peeve of mine when women parade through the locker room buck naked, letting it all hang out (or low, in a lot of their cases).  They nonchalantly carry on conversations, they blow-dry their hair, they talk on their cell phones, all the while wearing nothing but their birthday suits. (And for the record, it’s not usually the women who are buff and toned that are strutting their nude stuff.) Just the other day when I was trying to watch the news while changing my clothes, this bold-faced, rather out of shape woman waltzed right up and parked her saggy bare ass smack dab in front of the screen, clearly obstructing anyone else’s view.  She stood like that for a full five minutes, completely unaware that no one but her was catching up on the day’s top stories.  Are you kidding me? No one asked to see that!  It’s such an awkward situation when one of these unassuming women walks right into your line of vision because you don’t know where to put your eyes.  Should you look away? Should you continue to look in the same direction?  I’m all business at the gym, so I’m not trying to give anyone the wrong idea about my intentions toward them, least of all some naked chick in the locker room.  These women clearly do not understand the whole reason for calling them private parts.  Keep it to yourselves, people!

1993-06-04

11 Responses

  1. My dear, you must Never ever stop blogging. How else would I get my newly-found daily chuckle? (and yes, I’m laughing AT your crazy life). Love it!

    • I am glad you are enjoying the blog — what else can I do but to laugh at the insanity of my life??!! It’s either that or check myself into looney town…. 🙂 Thanks for reading!

  2. Hilarious! I hate dealing with saggy-ass nudity at the gym. You are not alone. Also blogging in Illinois, by the way.

    • Thanks for the comment — I’m glad I’m not alone on the nudity front (I have a feeling there are many more in our camp!) I love your blog, by the way! Your little Mr. Busypants is a cutie! Thanks for reading! 🙂

  3. LOL!!! You do have a way with words. I love it. Your blog is one of the very few that I regularly read.

  4. Thanks, lifelessons4u! Glad I’m peeking your interest! I’ll do my best to keep at it! 🙂

  5. Absolutely cracking up! So glad that my “gym” is at home. But with 5 daughters it seems that there is always someone walking around “nekkid.” Nevermind that the front door looks straight into the girls’ bathroom. It’s got to when we see a naked kid we remind them to open the doors so the neighbors can see. We are waiting for word to get aound the high school, and finding a bunch of 16 year old boys parked out front waiting for the show.

  6. I used to swim at the YMCA until I got so pissed at the old ladies walking in the lap lanes that I cancelled my membership. Walking! There’s a whole other side of the pool, GET OUT of the lap lanes. Anyway, one of the worst offenders of said lap lane walking almost got her nipple caught in the swimsuit wringer. I laughed, God help me, I laughed. I don’t feel too badly as I do not know anyone willing to sarcrifice themselves to save a 72 year old naked boob.

    • HILARIOUS! (And a little disgusting, I’m sure!) I swear some gym rats truly live in another world, don’t they?

  7. mama2point0

    So it’s not just my gym that’s like that?

    Yes, it’s amazing how many women love to spend as much time as possible nude.

    Like you said of yourself, I’m willing to be nude in the locker room, but I don’t prance around endlessly in the buff. The group showers in gym class in high school got me over my modesty for the most part. But it didn’t turn me into an exhibitionist either. My gym that I have a membership at has only one private shower in the women’s locker room, the rest are those group showers like at school. I’m able to shower without embarrassment, and to be briefly nude at my locker while undressing and dressing, but that’s the extent of my locker room nudity.

    I swear at least half the women at my gym love to be naked as long as they possibly can be. Chatting, blow drying hair, doing makeup, they love to do it in the nude.

    A couple of my guy friends at my gym say that the men don’t really do those types of things in the men’s locker room. They say it’s much more conservative in there.

Leave a Reply

