Lunch Bunch With No Munch

Since my twins only go to half-day kindergarten, they go to a little after-school program twice a week to get used to the idea of a full day of school and for me to reclaim just a bit of my sanity for a few hours.  They actually take their lunch with them and eat with their friends, or at least that’s what they’re supposed to be doing.  I try to be creative and pack things that I am CERTAIN they’ll eat — rainbow-colored Goldfish, cookies, juice boxes — you get the picture.  It seems, however, that no matter how amazing of a spread I put together for them, they never EVER eat even a fraction of it.  I kid you not, we could seriously feed a small village with the amount of uneaten or half-eaten food that comes home in those lunch bags.  For the life of me, I can’t figure out what in the world goes on there during that lunch hour.  I figure that they’re probably goofing around and talking, but how can a five year old resist a sugar cookie with a freaking bunny face on it?!  Where are their priorities?  I’ve thought about just leaving their half-eaten, moldy food in there until the next time they take their lunch bags.  It would be just my luck, though, that that’d be the one time when they are actually starving and willing to eat every single bit of what I packed. They’d end up with food poisoning and have to stay home from school, which would totally not teach anybody a lesson except for me to not try to prove a point to anyone under the age of six, lest it come back to bite me in the ass!

mbcn231l

One Response

  1. You always have such great cartoons with your posts.

Leave a Reply

