I Need A Pause Button

hug11Sometimes I just want to freeze time and put my kids in a bubble (of course I’m referring to the times when they are super-sweet and cuddly, not the times when they’re hell on wheels and I want to beat my head against the wall).  Just when you think you’ve had the absolute worst day ever and you want to run away and join the circus, they say something that just turns your heart into melted butter.  For example, even though my son constantly tests the little bit of patience I have left in my body, he absolutely sweeps me off my feet with his admiration of me.  He is constantly hugging me and kissing me, and whenever he forgets what it is that he’s trying to say, he’ll randomly bust out with a “Mommy, I really, really love you.”  I realize that it’s mainly just his way of pausing to regroup his thoughts, but I still adore every one of those six little words.  My daughter is equally as lovey-dovey in her own special ways. She is the first one to reach up and grab my hand whenever we’re out walking in the neighborhood or shopping at a store.  I treasure that so much and try to soak up each and every time I feel her little hand in mine, because I know that she will someday be embarrassed to even be seen in public with me.  And, just last night, when I felt pretty certain I looked like absolute crap (it was the end of a VERY long day, my hair was pulled into its usual messy lump, and the bags under my eyes were present and accounted for), my sweet little girl pulled my face toward hers and said, “Mommy, you look so pretty!”  I wanted to just scoop her up and put her in my pocket.  One of the greatest things about being a mom is that no matter how many times I may say or do something stupid, my kids are always my biggest fans.  I try to tattoo this on my brain, so that I remember this warm and cozy feeling even during those times when I want to crawl in a hole…but, then, someone does something that makes my nostrils flare, and I go back to being a nucking futs mama!

7 Responses

  1. Just beautiful work, takes me right back to when mine were little. Thanks, I needed it!

    • Thank you so much for your comment! I may bitch and moan about the grunt work of the job, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world. I know this precious time goes by way too fast when they’re little…..

  2. Soo true and dead on the feelings momsgo through with their kids!!

  3. dead on!

  4. I know exactly how you feel. My little one is 7 and no matter how testy and whiney she is on a bad day she will crawl up in my lap and just cuddle with me at the end of the day. Some nights she will fall asleep in my lap and I just have to sit and watch the peace on her face for a while because I know she will be to big soon. I think the hugs, kisses and loving comments more than make up for the hard parts

    • Thank you so much for your comment! It’s easy to focus on the negative when you’re knee deep in it, but the positive aspects of being a mom make it all worth it, don’t they?

Leave a Reply

