We Don’t Want No Stinkin’ Lice

I can say without a doubt that I am a paranoid freakazoid about lice. Unfortunately, with kids and school, it is an unavoidable topic.  Any time the word is even mentioned, my head starts automatically itching (I’m scratching it now as I type).  Throughout this entire school year, my twins’ elementary school has had multiple outbreaks.  I cringe every time a note comes home from the school nurse to say there’s been yet another head invasion.  It absolutely amazes me that these little sons of bitches (the lice, not my kids!) can survive the frigid winter temperatures.  I’d always thought it was a warm weather thing. Can’t they go south for the winter like the geese?  I had heard through the grapevine that tea tree oil repels lice for some odd reason, so back at the start of school, I stocked up on leave-in tea tree oil conditioner.  Much to the dismay of my children, it is now part of our morning routine to spray their heads as we walk out the door. The stuff smells like absolute crap, but hey, if it keeps the bugs off their heads, I could care less if they reek to high Heaven! Apparently, the stuff works too, because I am happy to report that we have been lice-free here in our house the whole year!  (And now, if you’ll excuse me so I can find some wood to knock on…don’t wanna jinx myself….)

aba0525l

One Response

  1. I am sooo with you on this one. I had an itchy head while I read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

