God Talks

I truly believe that you don’t have to physically sit in a sanctuary each and every week to be a good, honorable person.  We try to teach morals and values in our household through our daily actions — you know, “do unto others as you would have them do unto you.” However, I can’t help but feel guilty when I drive by a crowded church parking lot on Sunday mornings and know that my kids are at home playing the wii.  It’s not that they aren’t interested in religion and learning about God — quite the contrary. They are extremely interested and often ask me some crazy, wild questions.  For example, they are very curious about what God was like “when he was a little kid like them.”  They’ve asked if there were cars back then or if he liked to play video games or if he had to go to time out. We’ve also had many discussions about where God lives.  I was eavesdropping on a conversation between my twins one day where they were discussing whether God’s house was just beyond that big fluffy white cloud or that smaller grey one or just past the sun.  They are also fascinated by all the things God has made. Believe me, I have had to struggle on many occasions to come up with explanations for how he created mountains, oceans, trees and even toilet water.  Heaven is also very intriguing to them, so we had an abundance of questions about just where their grandpa was headed when he passed away a couple of years ago.  My husband made the mistake of mentioning that he was cremated and left the explanation of that whole concept to me, myself, and I.  I thought I’d done a pretty good job until my daughter’s teacher told me that she’d announced to her class that Pappaw’s bones were laying on the mantel! Lovely.  I am no theologian, but I try my darnedest to sound like a walking book of religious knowledge.  I guess we really need to look into Sunday school…..

rman2730l

Leave a Reply

