Private Parts

When my kids were younger and first started asking about their private parts, I decided we would call them the “hoo-hoo” and the “peeper” and explained that these were very special parts of them that only the doctor, grandparents, siblings, or parents should see. ¬†It all seemed cute and even kinda funny in the beginning, but the charm has since faded for a laundry list of reasons. ¬†For instance, they love to LOUDLY yell out an I-spy of my own adult hoo-hoo in public restrooms, which often generates a curious chuckle from innocent bystanders, much to my¬†embarrassment. ¬†They also have been banned from joint baths now, something that used to be so much of a time-saver for me. There was way too much compare and contrast analysis taking place in that tub. The latest nerve-grinding issue has been a sudden need for modesty — they each demand that the other not even so much as glance at his/her private parts. This is a constant battle because they both want to be in the same bathroom at the exact same time. ¬†More often than not I have one of them screaming and crying that the other was doing way too much hoo-hoo or peeper staring. ¬†I really thought I was doing a good thing with the whole “they’re called private parts for a reason” speech. ¬†However, as is the case with most aspects of parenting, this is yet another conversation that has come back to bite me in the butt, no private parts pun intended!

mpcn59l

Leave a Reply

