Bedtime Banter

amc0699l

For the life of me, I can’t figure out why God gave kids all the energy rather than the parents.  By 8:00 at night, I am completely beat, ready to kick my feet up or pass out.  My kids, however, are like the Energizer bunny.  After all the running around they do throughout the day, you would think they would be happy for their little heads to finally hit that fluffy pillow.  But au contraire mon fraire….no sooner do I make it down the stairs after tucking them into bed than I hear the pitter patter of little feet down the hallway.  I then have to drag my tired butt back up the stairs only to find one of my twins (typically my son) hiding in the bathroom, trying to be sure that he’s not missing out on any action downstairs.  It then becomes a ridiculous game of cat and mouse.  I head back down to the kitchen, thinking all’s quiet on the western front and that I finally have a moment’s peace…until I hear more tip toeing overhead.  At this point in the day, I have both physically and mentally clocked out and have used every last ounce of patience that I can possibly locate in my entire being.  It usually ends up that I have to threaten to take the wii away if everyone doesn’t shut their traps and go to sleep, for cripe’s sakes! Mama is pooped and ready to watch “The Bachelor” — is that really too much to ask??!!

Leave a Reply

