Hasta La Vista, Babies!

42-17769254

It takes so much prep work to go on a kid-free vacation that I often wonder if it’s really worth all the hassle.  I literally find myself running around like a chicken with my head cut off the days leading up to departure.  I have to leave a novel of notes with schedules, menus, phone numbers, etc.  Then there’s the uber challenge of arranging for carpools for who’s supposed to be where and when, the logistics of which make my temples throb.  Of course, there’s also the frantic attempt to try to at least put some sort of dent in the ever-growing mound of dirty laundry (useless, I know).  And, inevitably, there’s the ten thousand trips to the grocery store to be certain the fridge is good and stocked full.  It usually ends up so over-loaded that it’s a risk to even open the door.  Then, on top of all this, I have to deal with the guilt that mothers feel for selfishly leaving their little ones behind for some adult fun in the sun.  However, once that margarita’s in hand as I relax by a pool that’s a million miles away, that guilt disappears faster than my tan lines will when I return home, and I think, hell yes, this is absolutely worth it!

Leave a Reply

