My Party’s Bigger Than Yours

I am completely overwhelmed by the number of birthday party invitations my twins receive from kids in their class.  When did it become the thing to do to invite EVERYONE from kindergarten to celebrate your child’s birthday? I swear I have made more last minute trips to the toy store the past several months than I have to the gas station.  My brain is exhausted from trying to decide what to get these kids that we hardly even know.  The escalating cost of all these random presents is insane!  I could have had many a sushi dinner with all the money I’ve spent on gifts lately.  And I wasn’t born yesterday — I am onto these greedy little tots.  They are just trying to stockpile as many goodies as is humanly possible, and maybe the word is out that we give some pretty kick-butt presents.  So, am I going to be a bad mom when we don’t invite every Tom, Dick and Harry to my kids’ parties in the spring?  Do we really have to invite the cry baby, the back talker, the kid who eats boogers, and the kid who ALWAYS gets lice? What ever happened to intimate gatherings? You know, size does not always matter, people!

 

wda0913l

2 Responses

  1. Hi, have you ever been to http://www.birthdayswithoutpress.org ?
    You’re not the only one who feels this way!

  2. just say no to those crazy bday invites

Leave a Reply

