Can’t We All Just Get Along?

referee-1jpgAs with all siblings, competition is just a part of the game.  However, with twins, every single part of every single day is a race to the finish.  They go head to head to see who can get dressed the fastest.  It is a contest to see who gets help brushing their teeth first.  It’s even a bitter rivalry to see who can get to the bathroom to pee first.  I was reminded of this very fact yet again this morning trying to herd the cattle to the car for school. Because it tends to take our kids a million years to buckle their seatbelts, we created a little game that we thought would help to move them along quicker.  I’m starting to realize now though, that the plan is backfiring day by day.  We’ve told them that they will get an “imaginary cookie” once their belt is buckled, which, surprisingly, often works, despite how ridiculous the whole concept actually is.  Today, however, they were arguing over who got the biggest cookie.  There was shouting, name-calling, and even tear-shedding, and I had to stop and remind myself that we were, in fact, talking about a stupid IMAGINARY COOKIE!!  Are you kidding me?!  I’m all for friendly competition, but at 9:00 a.m. with no caffeine in my system, I’m not quite ready to wet my referee whistle and jump on the field.

Leave a Reply

